We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I enjoyed our stay here, the hotel was lovely and clean. The staff were friendly and willing to answer any questions.
The hotel is about a 30 min walk into town, but there is a bus that leaves just across the road from the hotel - be warned though the locally bus route to the city centre on Sunday's and Public Holidays does not commence until 9:30am (not so helpful when you tour leaves at 9am). That said was less than €10 to get into town via a taxi which the hotel staff arranged for us.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AishlingCarey, Guest Relations Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review of Flannery's Hotel, Galway. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team looked after you so well throughout your stay. I was also delighted to hear that you liked the atmosphere in the hotel and found our location so good for exploring Galway.

I hope to welcome you all back to Flannery's Hotel again in the near future.

Best Wishes
Aishling Carey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Disappointing for the money. Not enough staff on reception so long waits. Some staff lacked a friendly approach....too business like. Reception staff never offered impromptu greetings....but the passing housekeeping and restaurant staff were lovely! The bar was crowded and very noisy from 3 different channels on The and too loud! Not one bit relaxing....more like a lads sports bar! Food nice....breakfast gorgeous! Nice room but not spectacular. Nice king sized bed but hard pillows. Unlikely to stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maggie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AishlingCarey, Guest Relations Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your recent review of Flannery's Hotel. I am glad you liked the room and the nice king sized bed. I wish to apologize if you felt you had a long wait at reception we have been extremely busy over the past number of months but I will be sure to look into this further for you.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Galway and hopefully you will return to us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Aishling Carey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Staff were absolutely marvellous -from General manager, the chef ( superperb) to Cian our favourite waiter. We had a fantastic two weeks there and it was the staff including room staff (from all over the world) they made our stay the best. This hotel is one of the friendliest places to stay in galway

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Gawegians rugby club and thus had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AishlingCarey, Guest Relations Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review of Flannery's Hotel, Galway. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Cian and our team looked after you so well throughout your stay. I was also delighted to hear that you liked the atmosphere in the hotel and found our location so good for exploring Galway. I hope to welcome you all back to Flannery's Hotel again in the near future and thanks so much for recommending us.

Best Wishes
Aishling Carey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Our family of six was greeted by very friendly staff at the desk and in the breakfast restaurant. Alison provided excellent travel advice. She help us with where to go and what to do in connemara. We certainly enjoyed our day.

Alison greeted us when we returned. She is cheerful and welcoming and went out of her way to may our stay super.

Our accommodations were perfect for a family of 6.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Breen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AishlingCarey, Guest Relations Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review of Flannery's Hotel, Galway. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Alison and our team looked after you so well throughout your stay. I was also delighted to hear that you liked the atmosphere in the hotel and found our location so good for exploring Galway. I hope to welcome you all back to Flannery's Hotel again in the near future.

Best Wishes
Aishling Carey
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Do not recommend for family of young kids.no pool no kids area .even when my kids were in the snug lounge so as not to disturb other patrons we still had a complaint about our kids running through the bar which was a blatant lie and it was only 9 pm .should have gone to the connaught hotel up the road as one local recommended

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AishlingCarey, General Manager at Flannery's Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Johnny C,
Further to your recent disappointing Trip Advisor review of our hotel I wish to apologise to you if you felt that our hotel staff were not welcoming to you and your family. We welcome all guests to our hotel including families but we do insist that all children are supervised at all times whilst on our premises to ensure their safety. We do not advertise as having a children's area or pool but we do have a number of family rooms for sale for those who wish to book without the extra child facilities. If I can be of any further assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Kind regards,
Siobhan Farragher, General Manager, Flannery's Hotel Galway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,707 reviews
5.9 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
2.8 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#22 of 46 in Galway
941 reviews
2.3 km away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
2,010 reviews
6.3 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flannery's Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flannery's Hotel Galway

Address: Dublin Road | Galway City East, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $87 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flannery's Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flannery's Hotel is Galway's finest family run hotel. Facilites include 134 modern luxurious Bedrooms, Frankie's Bar & Bistro, The Galwegian Restaurant and 4 purpose built conference suites. The hotel offer free on-site car-parking and free Wi-fi throughout.The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Galway City and the famous attractions of the West of Ireland including; Connemara, the Aran Islands, the Burren & the Cliffs of Moher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flannery's Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galway
Galway Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing