We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mixed feelings...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Myself and my 3 friends booked two double rooms for 3 nights. While one of the rooms was actually very decent, the room I slept in was quite run down. The shower door was broken and for that reason a bathroom towel had been placed on the tiles by the staff. There was no warm water under the shower. There was not a single bed-side table or even a chair to place your phone or a glass of water on. On top of that the window was faulty and it wouldn't close. And it rained:) I understand that, considering other reviews, I might have been simply very unlucky with that room but I'm sure I won't be coming back to Sleepzone. If you decide to go there, avoid room 25 - or simply ask in advance if the shower or the window have been fixed:)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    185
    60
    16
    22
See reviews for
30
57
99
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This place offers good value for money, but you must be able to deal with noise from slamming doors in the middle of the night, and a noisy, busy and crowded kitchen area. It's ok if you want to socialize with a lot of people and stay in the city centre. We slept in a four bed room with a toilet and shower. The shower didn't work and the noise at night was a problem. The people who work there are very helpful and friendly. A good hostel for a low price that feels just a bit overcrowded. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloTyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Fantastic place - stayed in a mixed 8 room dorm. There was enough space - room did get hot in the evening.
Kitchen and living room were great!
Staff very friendly - would definitely stay here again. Best hostel we stayed at while in Ireland!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Great hostel! One of my favorite hostels. While studying abroad, the one place I wanted see was Ireland. This hospitality at this hostel was outstanding. I stayed in an 8 person room. The bunk beds were nice, the bathrooms were a little small. There was free wifi downstairs. Breakfast was not included, but you could go buy food at a local grocery store and put it in their fridge. I would advise doing this if you have early tours. Every night they told us a new pub to try and gave us recommendations for food. Overall, great hostel! I absolutely loved Galway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our first night here we stayed in a 6 bed dorm room. The room, kitchen, and lounge areas were spotless (until 2 busloads of teenagers on school trips arrived, but that isn't the fault of the hostel) and everything in the kitchen looks newly updated. For our second night we upgraded to the private double, which is in an apartment next door - 26 Euro more expensive than for the two of us to stay in the dorm room. The apartment, however, has not been renovated like the hostel and is in serious need of help. The couch is so collapsed you can't even sit on it, one of the bedroom doors (there are 2 rooms in the apartment) has a weird glass window offering no privacy (our large, middle-aged flatmate should have known better than to stand in front of it naked), and the kitchen doesn't even have basic utensils like a knife or spatula so we had to sneak them out of the adjoining hostel kitchen. For the extra amount that we've paid, it's not worth it to be in a private room considering how poor the apartment facilities are in comparison to the hostel.

On another note, I found one of the night shift staff members to be particularly unhelpful as well - when our dorm room ensuite ran out of toilet paper yesterday because the cleaning staff hadn't restocked it, I asked the guy at the front desk for more. His response was that it wasn't his job and that we should just take a wad of tp out of the communal bathroom. Seriously? I get that you're not the cleaning staff, but you should know where basic hostel supplies are and at least pretend to be helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#20 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.7 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.3 km away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepzone Hostel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepzone Hostel Galway

Property: Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Address: Bothar Na Mban | Woodquay, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price range (per night): $36 - $157
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleepzone Hostel Galway 2*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleepzone is Galway's leading hostel for over a decade. Much imitated but still not matched! Leading hostel in Galway on TripAdvisor. Clean, safe, friendly - and always great value for money. Daily discounted tours to Connemara and The Cliffs of Moher with Galway Tour Company departing from our front door daily. Free internet and Free Wifi (with international socketing). Superb, fully-equipped self-catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sleepzone Hostel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing