We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Galway
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Only stayed for one night hotel is brilliantly located right in the centre of things. The breakfast was lovely with a good selection. Although the room was a bit dated it was really clean. My only problem was there was only one window in the corner of the room so it was really dark.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank smithhelen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

I only spent one night but the hotel is perfectly situated right across from Eyre square. Very easy to get to and everything is within walking distance, including shops, restaurants and the all important bus stations. The hotel room was very neat and bathroom was spotlessly clean. Breakfast in the morning was decent too.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z3br4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

The Hotel was just ok but only cost 99 euro and is bang on eyre square so really central. Check out is noon so that's a plus. Breakfast was continental and really fresh and tasty.
Room small and compact but clean. Dated but warm. It was fine.
My issue was check in. The girl was friendly. The guy who seemed to be in charge wasn't very welcoming. He looked busy and not welcoming at all.
It felt like I was checking into a hostel and not an hotel.
I would have given a 4/5 if he had at least tried.
However I would stay here again. It's cheap. It's central. It's Galway.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here just for one night after another hotel let me down been overbooked. Anyway what a welcome very friendly efficent staff explained all the hotels facilities wtc. Room was comfy only issue was the annoying taxi rank outside were drivers fighting with each other. But thats not the hotels fault. Other than that goods night sleep, bed comfy shower powerful.
The only thing i would mention is your late night bar staff. I work in the industry and yes it can be annoying when intoxicated people return to the hotel. But for his own sake dont show it. I was having a quiet drinknat the bar and he showed his distaste to a group who came in. Yes its hard and a pain but just get on with it. Ita def a pleasant hotel and one i will frequent again

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Whiskeyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

With easy access to the train station, shops, and restaurants, The Imperial has a lot going for it. My wife and I were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. The front office staff was helpful and knowledgable. The breakfast spread ran the typical European gamut of eggs, cereal , fresh fruit and meats. This is the first hotel that I would stay at if I came to Ireland a second time.!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank henry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 km away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
933 reviews
0.2 km away
Eyre Square Hotel
Eyre Square Hotel
#30 of 46 in Galway
679 reviews
0.3 km away
Forster Court Hotel
Forster Court Hotel
#24 of 46 in Galway
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#6 of 46 in Galway
2,084 reviews
0.1 km away
Skeffington Arms Hotel
Skeffington Arms Hotel
#28 of 46 in Galway
503 reviews
0.3 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#36 of 46 in Galway
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Galway

Address: 35 Eyre Square | Galway City, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $103 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all visitors to the Imperial Hotel, with it's impressive location on Eyre Square in the Heart of Galway City. Within walking distance of the Train/Bus Station and Galway University(NUIG).The Imperial Hotel Galway City is the height of modern comfort. Every care has been taken to ensure guests feel right at home. We are the gate way to all that the West of Ireland has to offer with day trips arranged from the reception of the hotel. We offer a great selection of Accommodation types to suit all of your needs from rooms to accommodate 2 to 4 people. Excellent food is served in our Bar/Restaurant from 10am till 9pm. A short walk from the Imperial Hotel will bring you down the winding streets of Galway City onto the water front of Spanish Arch and the Claddagh region with plenty of shops/pubs & Restaurants on the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galway Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing