We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion”
Review of Salthill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salthill Hotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

last week-end had a great Family Reunion at The Salthill Hotel, Rooms with a great view of Galway Bay, Great Bar and Music, Out of this world Spa and Leisure, Prom Restaurant serving great Food and better Pizza, Staff very helpful and plesent, The minute you walk in you are greeted with a first class reception team, and the high standards are set from here. Great price great food wonderful views and a great Team headed up by Pauline. Thank you Eileen for a great week-end. John.

Room Tip: Rooms 212 to 217, 312. 317 412. 417
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByrneHotelGroup, Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear JohnB

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on the Salthill Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the rooms at the hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your food in the Prom Restuarant. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments about the staff especially Pauline and Eileen.

We hope to welcome you back to the Salthill Hotel very soon.

Warm regards
Salthill Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,495 - 2,499 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed while a wedding reception was in progress. Our bedroom was over the reception room and toilets , so we had very little sleep. Even when the band and disco finished the sound of the hand dryer in the toilets went on for hours and started again very early in the morning. As the hotel was full, a change of rooms was impossible. The receptionist who was most apologetic, took our details and assured us the manager would be in contact. Why were we not surprised that we never heard from him??
While the actual bedroom was fine, the corridoors were very narrow and quite shabby.
The breakfast was also poor.

Room Tip: chose top floor away from the ballroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deirdre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Pros: nice big rooms, good beds, friendly, helpful staff, nice bar, decent food. Cons: rooms a bit underlit and underequipped - somewhat gloomy and not great if you need to do any work. Nice location overlooking the sea, shame there's a car park in the way. Not bad, not great either.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjmachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We attendet for a wedding and stayt for 1 night on december 16/ 2011.We never fellt more wellcome than in this hotel.Everything was fab and the staff fabules.I can recommend this Hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: book the seeside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwaY1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByrneHotelGroup, Manager at Salthill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Dear GalwaY1969

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on the Salthill Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff fabulous, I will be sure to pass these comments to them.

We hope to welcome you back to the Salthill Hotel very soon.

Warm regards
Salthill Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Being originally from Salthill, it was a wonderful experience to stay in this beautiful hotel. It is ideally situated for a walk on the Prom or indeed right into town along the sea front. I had forgotten the bus was also on the doorstep so that was an added bonus. I found that the staff could be a little impersonal at times (long waiting at desk hoping you'll go away!). There was no obvious night time security that I could see which would concern me. There was a wedding on one of the nights and I was awoken by howling and shouting at 4am which lasted long enough for me to notice. But by and large I will always make this my home away from home! I may phone in advance to see if there is a wedding on!

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View away from any potential wedding party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,437 reviews
3.2 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,909 reviews
2.5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,788 reviews
1.9 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
402 reviews
3.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthill Hotel

Address: | Promenade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: $95 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salthill Hotel is a luxury Galway hotel located on the famous Salthill Promenade overlooking the beautiful Galway Bay and strand. Just minutes from Galway City centre this sea front hotel has newly refurbished and spacious sea view bedrooms, a large and modern bar, two restaurants offering unique dining experiences and a brand and state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salthill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing