We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
US$179
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oranhill Lodge(Oranmore)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kinlay Hostel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Twelve Hotel(Barna)
US$209
US$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
58
22
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
22
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskind hostsdelicious irish breakfastwonderful hostswould stay here againnice staygalway cityroom was clean and comfortableannesalthill
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Ontario House for one week.
John and Anne the hosts are so welcoming, warm and friendly. The room is very clean, spotless. The bed is very comfy. Excellent wifi. I really felt at home. Five out of five. A big thumbs up.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We used this B&B as a stop-over. We did not visit Galway but it looks like it's located somewhat outside of the centre.
We had the family room which is quite small for 4 people. If you place your suitcases on the floor there's not much place to move around.
The bathroom includes the shower and toilet, the sink is located in the sleeping room.

Breakfast was good. Continental is included in the price, Irish is available with an extra charge.

There are parking places behind the house and it's recommended to park a larger car in driving direction to leave the car park.

Comparing to other B&Bs, this was the most expensive for a family room this size.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank all_the_places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maiya, Owner at Ontario House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Sorry for the minor inconvenience with your suitcases, but some people do carry extra large suitcases, for a 2 week holiday. Europeans have never complained about the size of the room. This is my home not a hotel. Hotel rooms cater for people with lots of luggage and the rooms are there fore larger. If you require a larger family room, stay in a hotel, its more expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We booked this guest house well in advance of an upcoming wedding in the Salthill Hotel. Plenty of parking at the rear of this well kept Guest house. Hosts Anne and John were very nice and friendly. Bedroom has ensuite but it is on the small side when a double bed is in the room. Place clean and spotless which is a credit to the running of this place. Breakfast was served between 8.00am and 10.00am and check out was at 11.00 am which I thought was early for a B&b. We have stayed in other bed and breakfasts where they would operate a later check out. That is my only gripe. We were very tired and left right after breakfast. The walk to the Salthill Hotel took us fifteen minutes to get there and we walked pretty fast as it was all downhill getting there and back it was uphill and took us twenty minutes. I have no hesitation recommending this bed and breakfast and our stay was short and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mayojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Anne and John were wonderful hosts and very accommodating. I was travelling with my father, and we made reservations only a day in advance for a five-night stay. Our first night was in a room that wasn't ensuite, but Anne moved us to an ensuite room for the remainder of our stay. Both rooms were quiet and very clean. We enjoyed breakfast in the mornings, and the ample parking was very handy. It was easy to get into and out of the city from here.

Salthill is a beautiful walk along the water from Galway, but if you're not up for exercise, then there is a bus that drops close by. Definitely take the time to walk the promenade, however. And stop into O'Connor's for a pint.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea view, although you're far enough from the sea that it won't matter either way
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CosmopolitanMeaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Really nice house and was made to feel very welcome, staff were very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed, The room was nice and clean. Close enough top walk down the road to the sea front

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karlf144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews