We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Basic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ontario House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #99 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Nice stay at Ontario house. Simple, clean and comfy accommodations and generous kind hosts. Short walk into Salthill and we found it easy to walk into Galway as well. We stayed in a room without an ensuite but it wasn't a problem. Delicious Irish breakfast. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrystaPearcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed at Ontario House for one week.
John and Anne the hosts are so welcoming, warm and friendly. The room is very clean, spotless. The bed is very comfy. Excellent wifi. I really felt at home. Five out of five. A big thumbs up.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank maureen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We used this B&B as a stop-over. We did not visit Galway but it looks like it's located somewhat outside of the centre.
We had the family room which is quite small for 4 people. If you place your suitcases on the floor there's not much place to move around.
The bathroom includes the shower and toilet, the sink is located in the sleeping room.

Breakfast was good. Continental is included in the price, Irish is available with an extra charge.

There are parking places behind the house and it's recommended to park a larger car in driving direction to leave the car park.

Comparing to other B&Bs, this was the most expensive for a family room this size.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank all_the_places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maiya, Owner at Ontario House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Sorry for the minor inconvenience with your suitcases, but some people do carry extra large suitcases, for a 2 week holiday. Europeans have never complained about the size of the room. This is my home not a hotel. Hotel rooms cater for people with lots of luggage and the rooms are there fore larger. If you require a larger family room, stay in a hotel, its more expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We booked this guest house well in advance of an upcoming wedding in the Salthill Hotel. Plenty of parking at the rear of this well kept Guest house. Hosts Anne and John were very nice and friendly. Bedroom has ensuite but it is on the small side when a double bed is in the room. Place clean and spotless which is a credit to the running of this place. Breakfast was served between 8.00am and 10.00am and check out was at 11.00 am which I thought was early for a B&b. We have stayed in other bed and breakfasts where they would operate a later check out. That is my only gripe. We were very tired and left right after breakfast. The walk to the Salthill Hotel took us fifteen minutes to get there and we walked pretty fast as it was all downhill getting there and back it was uphill and took us twenty minutes. I have no hesitation recommending this bed and breakfast and our stay was short and pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mayojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Anne and John were wonderful hosts and very accommodating. I was travelling with my father, and we made reservations only a day in advance for a five-night stay. Our first night was in a room that wasn't ensuite, but Anne moved us to an ensuite room for the remainder of our stay. Both rooms were quiet and very clean. We enjoyed breakfast in the mornings, and the ample parking was very handy. It was easy to get into and out of the city from here.

Salthill is a beautiful walk along the water from Galway, but if you're not up for exercise, then there is a bus that drops close by. Definitely take the time to walk the promenade, however. And stop into O'Connor's for a pint.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sea view, although you're far enough from the sea that it won't matter eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CosmopolitanMeaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
10.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
1.9 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,097 reviews
3 km away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
4.4 km away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,224 reviews
2.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ontario House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ontario House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ontario 48 Dalysfort Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing