We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely poor service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Galway
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Last weekend myself & 5 others visited your bar for some dinner.
We placed our order @ 3.55pm. Two members of our group ordered a starter.
The soup came out @ 4.25pm, it was freezing cold. They sent it back came back around 4.35pm. It was a seafood chowder, it did come back hot but with very little fish. The two people who are it said that it had been the worst seafood chowder they had ever had.
5.15pm roles around and we still have no sign of our dinner. We asked staff 4 times where are food was and that we had waited a very long time! The staff were very apologetic and kind, I know it wasn't their fault it was the kitchens. One gentlemen came to tell us the delay was with the mash. We said we could live without mash just hurry up with our dinner. Eventually dinner arrived 5.25pm, no manager had come to us at this point to ask was everything ok or check in or even apologize. Two people ordered the beef dinner, when it arrived it was missing items that it had mentioned on the menu. Honestly at this point we couldn't of cared we just ate the dinner to get out of the place. The dinner was cold, and missing items. We made ourselves known to a manager to express that we felt that we had been offered extremely poor service. He was nice about it, seemed very text book response not genuine care or concern. But non the less he offered us a discount on the cost. It was a nice touch but didn't turn around the poor dinner & service we just received.
We had planned on all ordering deserts but in fear we would be sitting another hour we all just decided to call it a day.
When looking around the bar, we saw a lot of similar expressions as ours, pissed off waiting for food just as long as us. It seemed like everyone just wanted to leave.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

4in a row and looking forward to 5. Thank you Stephanie for your greeting to the 3 of us.It is so nice to be recognised immediately as it was a year ago since we were staying in the hotel.We are 3 retired people who have been coming here for the last four years and each time is better.We love the Clayton as it is home from home With the new motorway we can be in the hotel in 20 minutes.Wishing you and all the nice staff every success and a peaceful Christmas.

Room Tip: Ask at reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stapos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the Clayton for the weekend of my Graduation with my friend. She had come down from Dublin for the weekend. We checked in late but we’re super delighted with our room it must have been upgraded as it looked like a superior room!!
The room was very spacious and ideal for a girls weekend away with the right amount of mirrors ☺️
Breakfast the next morning was nice. It was layed out nicely and nice selection although there was a few plates that weren’t clean.
The residents bar closes around 3am which I find to be a bit early but wasn’t a big deal ☺️
My only fault with the whole weekend was on Sunday morning we were woken up with very loud banging and construction work! I had called for a late checkout as we were so tired and the receptionist allowed us to stay until 1pm ☺️ I queried the banging and the receptionist (had a double name - possibly Laura-Ann?) she apologised and asked if we’d like to speak to a manager as they were placing new carpets on the floor above us! It wasn’t a big deal as the whole weekend was great minus them few hours but she was kind enough to take the breakfast charge off our room
Overall I was very happy with the pricing and quality of our stay and would definitely book this hotel in the future

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lyndsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Just had an evening meal with my husband and three sons. Lovely meal served by a very friendly efficient waiter. The food was delicious and service was very quick. The waiter was very helpful and polite. All the family commented on how nice the waiter was, i think his name was Liam.. Definitely looking forward to returning soon.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Myself and my wife had stayed here before and were happy to return. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
The food was good and the waitress that served us was excellent...even the background music was perfect, very chilled out. Our room was also very comfortable.
It was perfect for a day trip away from Dublin, we will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
4.1 km away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
5 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,167 reviews
2.5 km away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,353 reviews
4.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,172 reviews
8.3 km away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Galway

Address: Monivea Road | Ballybrit, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Galway
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#8 Luxury Hotel in Galway
#8 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range: $104 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Galway 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4 star hotel with leisure facilities, free car parking and broadband. Located opposite the race course in close proximity to Galway City & just 2 km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Hotel Ballybrit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing