We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$329
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$123
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
US$180
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$198
US$192
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
314
243
86
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
243
86
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf lodgesthe cottageskids clubnational parkself cateringbasketball courtswimming poolleisure centrehired bikeshotel facilitiesview from the dining roomfamily holidaylake and mountainskillarney townfamily roomwasher dryerbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2016

My last review about this stunning destination with tons of outdoor activities and a brilliant leisure center shared that they did not have wifi.

Well..management listened... and now every room in this huge complex has brilliant and reliable WIFI.

The single story Golf lodges are premiere because they have floor to ceiling windows with spectacular views of the lakes and the mountains however they book up months in advance.


When my family stayed here in September 2016, however, we stayed in one of the woodland cottages and I was surprised how much we enjoyed the tranquility and serenity of the rear cottages and how easy it was to have access to walking 3-4 minutes to get to the more scenic vistages!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlerosseSales, Director of Sales at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Bob F,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a super review of the Castlerosse.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we did a lot of work on our Wi Fi here at the Castlerosse, we now offer Free Wi Fi to our hotel guests as well as our guests in the self catering accommodation. I'm glad this enhanced your recent stay with us.
We are lucky to be located in such a beautiful and tranquil area amidst Killarney National Park, we never tire of such unspoiled beauty.
We would love to welcome you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Janice Healy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed at castle Ross September 2016 and stayed for three nights. We chose one of the homes rather than the hotel and found it exceeded our expections it comfortably slept two couples. The food was excellent, we had breakfast and supper and there was more than we could eat. The grounds were beautiful, from the golf course to the beautiful walks around the area. And very close to downtown kilarney

Room Tip: We loved the house
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlerosseSales, Director of Sales at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Danny K,

Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you!
The self catering cottages are brilliant with two spacious bedrooms and a spacious living room and fully fitted kitchen. It has everything you need to enjoy your stay. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the food in our Grosvenor restaurant.
I'm also delighted to hear that you had time to enjoy our beautiful grounds and the lovely walks around the hotel through the National Park.
We would love to welcome you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Janice Healy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in the hotel for three nights. It is a great hotel for families. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. The kids club is well ran, swimming pool is lovely and the bike hire is great for all ages (book bikes the day b4). There is a playground, basketball court and tennis court on the hotel grounds.
We had a great time. We will be back.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank anna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlerosseSales, Director of Sales at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear anna o,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review.
It is lovely to hear such positive feedback. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team here. The Castle Rangers kids club is very popular, I'm glad to hear they enjoyed it. The bicycle hire is indeed a great facility and it is important to book in time to avoid disappointment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Janice Healy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the end of September, and were lucky enough to have a "room with a view". There are rooms with views of a courtyard or the car park, and these might be ok for overnight stops. But to have a view of the golf course and the lake and the mountains from your bedroom window was absolutely fantastic.

Similarly the views from the restaurant upstairs were tremendous, with the changing light on the mountains.

There is no doubt that the scenery is what makes this place; but the fact that it stands on the edge of the national park is wonderful too - not only red deer outside the bedroom window but also easy access walking to Ross Castle and the lake (or beyond) or through the park into Killarney.

Friendly staff, comfortable bedroom, nice food, spacious free car park - all in all, definitely worth a return visit

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlerosseSales, Director of Sales at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Dear David P,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes. The Lakeview rooms are fantastic and with just a little supplement to guarantee you get one, it is well worth it!
The views are undoubtedly some of the best in Ireland, this makes the Castlerosse a very special place to visit with its location amidst Killarneys National Park.
Thank you for your kind words on the team here at the Castlerosse, we do work hard to ensure each guest has an enjoyable and memorable experience with us.
We would love to welcome you back to the Castlerosse again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Janice Healy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed in the hotel last weekend. We had the most wonderful time.
From the location to the friendly staff everything was great. We dined in the hotel every evening and we had a wonderful experience, the views from the restaurant are absolutely picturesque. We definitely be returning, great venue for kids.

Room Tip: great views of killarney national park, clean well run hotel great food
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastlerosseSales, Director of Sales at Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2016

Dear Maurice H,

Thank you for your kind review.
I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay in the Castlerosse.
I will pass on your kind words to the team here, it is lovely to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Castlerosse in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Janice Healy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews