We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
US$125
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey Lodge(Killarney)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$317
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Heights Hotel Killarney(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
US$261
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brook Lodge Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
41
57
49
33
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
57
49
33
72
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

The hostel has a prime location and great price. The rooms were kind of dirty and the beds were not at all comfortable, but you get what you pay for. Breakfast was standard and the employees were happy and helpful. Decent, would recommend if on a tight budget.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ccrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We booked a private room for 2 persons, without reservation. The lady at the desk was very helpful and took her time explaining the do's and don'ts. The hostel is located close to the public transport, as is it to the center of Killarney.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Railway Hostel was very clean, and was perfect for our large group to divide up and have cheap, decent rooms for the night.
We had a group of 14 adults, some married couples, needing a cheap place to stay after climbing in beautiful Kilarney Park all day. Railway was cheap enough, that for 3 rooms of bunk beds, it was only 16 Euro per person. The hostel is large, with a central hallway, on both the lower and upper floor. It is dormitory style, like most hostels, and has shared bathrooms and a separate shower room. The rooms are different sizes and have various bunk bed configurations. The bedding was minimal, but it is a low budget accommodation. We weren't expect goose down duvets or anything. There is a lounge/internet area just off the lobby, and a picnic-style dining hall adjoined to the public-use kitchen next to the lounge. You are free to bring your own food to cook in their large kitchen. We stayed out late, and enjoyed drinks on their patio table, and talked with the very nice late night desk clerk. He was very friendly, and was nice to us, even when we may have gotten a little loud. There were lots of young adults there, like our group, and it was fun meeting people from all over the world. It is also within a short walking distance of Kilarney's pubs, clubs, and restaurants. Railway Hostel is an affordable, basic needs kind of place, but with a friendly smile. Great for adventurers!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cnoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I booked the hostel for one night. The room I was given was tiny which wouldn't be a problem if you could store luggage under the bed. I was lucky to be the only person in this 4 people bedroom, otherwise the suitcases would have covered 3/4 of the floor
Furthermore the room was freezing. Apparently the heating is only getting turned on for 2 hours in the evening, which of course isn't enough to heat a room that's been cold for the whole day.
The whole hostel is a bit on the dirty/untidy side, lots of things that are broken and haven't been repaired properly.
The staff was mostly friendly and they provide free wifi. It's something. Still, I wish I had spent a bit more and stayed at a nicer place.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
Thank firu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Stayed overnight on a school trip for one day with 53 others and it was perfect. Rooms were spacious and ideal, kitchen was nice could do with a bit more equipment for cooking but very ideal, free wifi, hot showers, comfy beds and friendly staff. Couldnt ask more from a hostel

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Seandes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews