We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Railway Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Railway Hostel
Reviewed 21 June 2015 via mobile

I just spended one night at the hostel in a four bed room. It was okay but nothing more. The room was very small and no place for your stuff. I don't think that they changed the bed linen. Breakfast was very basic but okay for the price I payed. The location is quite good.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2015 via mobile

The hostel has a prime location and great price. The rooms were kind of dirty and the beds were not at all comfortable, but you get what you pay for. Breakfast was standard and the employees were happy and helpful. Decent, would recommend if on a tight budget.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ccrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We booked a private room for 2 persons, without reservation. The lady at the desk was very helpful and took her time explaining the do's and don'ts. The hostel is located close to the public transport, as is it to the center of Killarney.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

Railway Hostel was very clean, and was perfect for our large group to divide up and have cheap, decent rooms for the night.
We had a group of 14 adults, some married couples, needing a cheap place to stay after climbing in beautiful Kilarney Park all day. Railway was cheap enough, that for 3 rooms of bunk beds, it was only 16 Euro per person. The hostel is large, with a central hallway, on both the lower and upper floor. It is dormitory style, like most hostels, and has shared bathrooms and a separate shower room. The rooms are different sizes and have various bunk bed configurations. The bedding was minimal, but it is a low budget accommodation. We weren't expect goose down duvets or anything. There is a lounge/internet area just off the lobby, and a picnic-style dining hall adjoined to the public-use kitchen next to the lounge. You are free to bring your own food to cook in their large kitchen. We stayed out late, and enjoyed drinks on their patio table, and talked with the very nice late night desk clerk. He was very friendly, and was nice to us, even when we may have gotten a little loud. There were lots of young adults there, like our group, and it was fun meeting people from all over the world. It is also within a short walking distance of Kilarney's pubs, clubs, and restaurants. Railway Hostel is an affordable, basic needs kind of place, but with a friendly smile. Great for adventurers!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cnoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I booked the hostel for one night. The room I was given was tiny which wouldn't be a problem if you could store luggage under the bed. I was lucky to be the only person in this 4 people bedroom, otherwise the suitcases would have covered 3/4 of the floor
Furthermore the room was freezing. Apparently the heating is only getting turned on for 2 hours in the evening, which of course isn't enough to heat a room that's been cold for the whole day.
The whole hostel is a bit on the dirty/untidy side, lots of things that are broken and haven't been repaired properly.
The staff was mostly friendly and they provide free wifi. It's something. Still, I wish I had spent a bit more and stayed at a nicer place.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
Thank firu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
611 reviews
0.9 km away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#2 of 47 in Killarney
105 reviews
4.2 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
4.9 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hostel

Address: Fair Hill Cottages Railway Lodge 12 Fair Hill, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: $30 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killarney Railway Hostel is situated across the road from the Bus and Train stations in the heart of Killarney Town. It is close to the famous Killarney National Park and an ideal base from which variousother beautiful destnaions may be explored. The Hostel has everything one would need for a pleasant vacation including complimentary breakfast, self catering Kitchen, 24 hour recepton and FREE Wi Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Railway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing