We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Killarney Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The beds were not the best. The price was excellent. The fireplaces and the gardens and the area was great. It was perfect for our group of 8 and having 2 bathrooms helped. The water boost was a good feature and having a washing machine really helped. I would stay again. The pub didn't have any food for us and we had to go into town but that's okay. Couldn't get the internet to work hardly at all.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendywalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

The cottages are cosy once you've got the heating sorted. Looking at other reviews I think they must vary, so you might be lucky and get a good one.

Ours had heaters with no real control on or off was all we managed. They need updating. Plenty of hot water and the boost function was explained on arrival so no complaints there.

Kitchen poorly equipped if you expect to cook but adequate for heating up a ready meal. Ie plenty of plates and glasses bit no whisk or grater.

Beds are clean and firm, if there are 8 of you be aware that two are on an open balcony over the lounge.

The wifi in our cabin refused to connect to the Internet but (as the password follows the same format) we were able to use next door's. Very slow and not to current standards but the 4G signal is good so maybe you can avoid using it.

TV has basic local channels. No DVD player. No radio.

People in the pub are friendly but (at quiet times) it lacks any atmosphere.

Unfortunately the cottage next to us had the builders in and lots of vans and banging at 8am wasn't very welcome! Neither was the pile of rubbish outside 'our' back door.

Would I come again - no. Would I recommend it? Maybe but visit knowing it has lots of compromises and really needs a bit of updating.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Great place to stay if you are traveling this part of Ireland. We stayed here for a week and it was a good point from where we visited Killarney National Park, Dingle, Cork, Clifs of moher...
The houses have that traditional architecture and makes you feel like an authentic irishman. :) Înside you will find all you can possible need, the kitchen is well equiped, nice outdoor place to stay behind the house.
highltly recomended

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MagdutG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

I booked this cottage for seven adults to stay in Killarney for two nights. We all had our own beds and nobody felt overcrowded. There was free wifi, a full kitchen and three bathrooms. It is close to the city centre. We chose to take taxis - about 10 euro each way - but you can also drive and use the public car parks.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Checking in was easy. The only downside we experienced was confusion on using some appliances. The laundry took forever - we had to go to reception a few times to ask for help. We also received directions on boosting the water heater, but still, all seven of us took ice cold showers.

Overall, I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

My family and I have been staying in Old Killarney Village for the past 5 nights. I highly recommend staying here if you want somewhere quiet to sleep, lots of space to move around. It's been fantastic.
The accommodation is spotless, clean sheets, towels. They left soap, washing up liquid etc.
This cottage accommodates eight people. It's home from home and beats staying at a hotel.
We've had rabbits in the back garden and two visits from a friendly Labrador.
The kitchen is well stocked with a microwave, oven , washing machine. There are a few areas that need updating but what's important to us is that a place is clean, comfortable and above all quiet. Will be back and certainly will recommend to friends.
Thank you.
Marie.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.7 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
3.9 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,326 reviews
3.2 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
4.8 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
3.2 km away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#7 of 143 in Killarney
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Killarney Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Killarney Cottages

Address: | Groin, Aghadoe, Killarney V93 F827, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: $184 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Killarney Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Old Killarney Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Killarney Village Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing