We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hibernian House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Zuni Hotel(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pembroke Kilkenny(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Troysgate House(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
34
44
20
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
44
20
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationkilkenny castlelove kilkennytwin bedscoffee machineattending a weddingpubsirelandaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2015

The space itself was adequate for a place to crash for the night -- but the water coming out of the pipes is totally gross. After a night of enjoying a few pints of Guinness at the local pub, we came back and tried to drink some water from the sink, but it was disgusting. A quick Google search showed us that the city's water is not good (maybe due to old piping?). It was late, and Kilkenny is a sleepy town, so there were no stores open nearby, that we could find. It would be very nice for the hotel to supply bottles or even a pitcher of drinking water.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank shaunissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Berkeley House accommodated my last minute (same day) booking and gave me a great deal too. It's perfectly located in the town center amidst restaurants, pubs, and tons of shopping. The staff is very friendly and responsive, continental breakfast is simple but good, my room was clean and the shower was strong and hot. Lots of towels, tea/coffee in the room. It is a very old place and it creaks a lot. The wifi is spotty on the 2nd fllor and doesn't work on the 3rd. The bed wasn't the most comfy, it creaked too, but it was good enough to get a semi-decent night's sleep. Overall, for the price, I'd book again.

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank KimmyNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Stayed one night and it was very pleasant. Parking is provided across the street. Location is wonderful, walking distance to many places including Kilkenney Castle. Typical breakfast of cereal, fruit, eggs, bacon, toast... Clean and comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Think any room would be fine
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Stayed here for one night for Cat Laughs Festival as all the hotels around were either booked up or too dear for a one night when the head will barely touch the pillow! In saying that still thought this B&B was very overpriced, I’m sure there was some mark up on account of the weekend. Great location and friendly staff. Out dated décor and low quality breakfast. House needs updating, looking at the reviews, it gets plenty of hens and stags so keep expectations moderate.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

You can't get anything better than the Berkeley house for a weekend away in Kilkenny. The guesthouse is perfectly located, fantastic price and the staff are the best!

The guesthouse has a parking deal with the Q park around the corner so you get a discounted rate. We had a small continental breakfast included but we did not avail of it.

The only teeny tiny negative I have to say is that as comfy as the beds were they were SUPER squeaky! Also, there were old school locks on the door and you had to lock the door behind you when you left. They were also a bit tricky.

I would 100% stay here again and I would definitely recommend for anyone to stay here!

On a side note the city bar and grill across the road do amazing food!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Melvie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews