We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
36
51
23
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
51
23
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location kilkenny castle right smack in the middle overnight parking third floor one night stay first stop within easy walking distance bed was comfortable pubs ireland
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Hibernian House for just one night and it was a horrible experience. The accomodation very dated, and while it seemed cleanish it was very dingy.

There was only one fire exit abd that was down the main ( and only) staircase. All the firedoors were left open and although I closed them, they wrre soon open again. Whilst i appreciate that it may have been guests who left them open, it is surely the hotels responsibility to fit fire doors that are fit for their purpose.

There is no lift and the water pressure on the top floor is virtually nil.

Breakfast is a few pieces of ham , some cheese and cereal. The toaster was plugged into a mutigang socket next to the coffee machine.

The girl who was working there was very pleasant and they do pay parking.

In short I would never ever stay there again. If it hadn't been quite late when we arrived we would have tried to find somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We were very much looking forward to our stay here in Kilkenny .. what a shame it turned out to be one of the worst places we stayed during a 15 day tour of Ireland. The room itself was quiet although tiny, and the surrounding guests woke us constantly when arriving home anywhere between 1am and 4am. The bathroom could only accommodate one person at a time and required some attention above the shower. Breakfast was okay however nothing was really fresh and the same "out of use by" yoghurt was offer each day. At 105€ per night it did not represent good value. The location itself was quite good ... we would not recommend. It was necessary to check in via another hotel .. it would be helpful if this mentioned in the booking confirmation documents.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

The staff is awesome and very nice. The accommodations are also decent size as well as a perfect location. My only wish would be for better beds and pillows. Other than that it's a nice place to lay your head for the night!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ChelseaB1757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Went there last weekend and had a lovely stay. Room was spacious and staff were extremely friendly and helpful! Breakfast consisted of fruit, cereals, toast and a selection of cheeses, hams and juices. Would recommend!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Niamhbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We stopped in Kilkenny after Dublin and this hotel was a nice break after staying in a room right in the heart of city center! It was nice and quiet, big room, tucked in the back. We woke up in the morning to hear birds chirping and that was the only sound we heard! The staff was very friendly as well, giving us all sorts of recommendations of things to do and places to eat. I would definitely recommend staying there and going to Kilkenny in general as it ended up being our favorite stop on our tour of Ireland!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jillryan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews