We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
36
52
23
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
52
23
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location kilkenny castle right smack in the middle overnight parking third floor one night stay first stop within easy walking distance bed was comfortable pubs ireland
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Had a brief but wonderful stay at The Hibernian House in Kilkenny. Ida checked us in and did a great job. She made us aware of the amenities and the guest promotion if we stayed and had dinner in the attached restaurant, Harpers (which we did). We parked in the q public parking structure about 50 yards from the hotel and they were able to validate us for the time we were there. Great location and we were able to walk to the bars, restaurants, castle, and Smithwicks experience very easily. It is a historic hotel so don’t expect the most modern amenities/extras however wi-do worked fine as did basic cable. Great spot.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SDiswhereIshouldbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend on a night out in Kilkenny. It is right beside pubs/centre of Kilkenny. Fantastic location. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was served in hotel across the road. This was lovely and good atmosphere. Had a great weekend in Kilkenny I would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liv04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in the annex because the hotel was full. Had to carry our bags up a flight of stone steps outside and across a busy street and 3 flights of stairs inside. Difficult. Room was small. No place for suitcases to lie flat except the bed. Tiny closet. But worst was the bathroom. No heat. Cold. The toilet had to be coaxed many times to flush. And the shower was like a trickle of water. Have been in many recreational vehicle showers which had more water pressure. Hairdryer was wall type that didn’t dry my fairly short hair. And the 2 complimentary water bottles had obviously been reused and refilled with probably tap water! This room should never be rented. Our cousins stayed in a second floor annex room and their bathroom had a decent shower but same problem with water bottles and their room was very noisy. The hotel seems nice. The annex to be avoided.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank karenpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

For the price completely not worth it. Have stayed in bunkhouses with better standards and a lot cheaper.
Staff were generally polite but somewhat unhelpful (I will get back to that), the bed sheets clean, and the breakfast alright. That’s about all the positives I can give. I did appreciate the phone call in advance detailing the parking situation but could have been told the actual name of the car park which would have been even more helpful. Costed an extra 10e
The place is in dire need of some tlc. Our mattress was so old it was completely dipped in the middle and the shower a bit mouldy. It is an old house so the boards creek which we didnt mind at all but the walls are very very thin and we can hear everything your neighbours say word for word.
Now comes to farcical faulty towers situation….We needed a steam iron as we were going to a wedding the next day.
No iron or ironing board in the room so as directed in room information we rang reception. Straight forward enough… Unhelpfully told ‘there should be one in the room’. After a double check we were finally provided with a small travel non steam iron with no board and “advised” to put towels on the ground! Anyway this iron could not be used on my dress so we refused and were told by the lady who brought the room that she didn’t work here and don’t know anything.
After getting nowhere with her we left for the main reception and spoke with two ladies there. Again stated that we needed the steam iron. We were originally told by both ‘we don’t have one’. Which actually could be translated as ‘We can’t be bothered’. It’s specifically stated in their information that a steam iron is available on request at reception. We said that we were heading out for the evening and that we would like a steam iron and a board for when we got back.
Returned later to find a board and iron resting outside bedroom door.
Ridiculously the ironing board was broken and missing a leg so we had to prop it up on the bed so we could sort of use it. And absolute embarrassment for an outcome. I have photographs if needed.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel or B&B
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Car2line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We upgraded our room to have plenty of space. The room was on the second floor overlooking the street. The bed was comfortable and the room well appointed. The bar downstairs was a classic irish pub with dark wood and seating with fantastic décor. Sitting in the bar was worth the hotel trip. They offered the standard Ireland breakfast and the service was excellent. Everyone at the hotel was more than helpful. Maybe the best part was the location to everything in this quaint city.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank ald233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews