We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic place love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sligo
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“fantastic place love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

we have stayed in the strandhill camping park many times over the past few years and as many times as possible this summer, in the tent and in the campervan. The staff are great, the facilities are good and the location great, i cannot recomment it enough

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonegalFizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    22
    5
    8
    4
See reviews for
31
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

A big thanks to Strandhill caravan park for a great, relaxing stay. Facilities are clean and modern. We felt very comfortable and secure throughout our stay and the staff were very accommodating. Location is fantastic, all round happy experience!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emi_bemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed at Strandhill Caravan Park 3 times so far this summer. Its a great site, with ample pitches for both caravans and tents. Quiet site, no noise to complain about. Toilets and showers are perfect. Great reception area with Pool Table and internet access. Park is located close to local pubs/restaurants and the Spar supermarket is located a 5 minute walk away. We found the supermarket to be well stocked and reasonably priced. Ideal location for surfing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvedaLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Strandhill caravan/camping site in Sligo could not be in a more perfect position for surfing/hiking socialising. Whilst I have noticed other reviews on this site complaining about the noise and toilets I have to totally disagree. The toilets were cleaned often and in 5 days there was only once that the water wasn't roasting hot. As for the noise, the site has a no noise after midnight policy which is completely fine. Of course you are going to get the usual moaners who are completely deluded about the level of noise that should be expected when camping (tents/caravans are not built to be sound proof) and try to rain on your parade. The park is set up in such a way that there is an area for family friendly camping or camping closer to the beach (and further from toilets) for the more relaxed camper. Just pick the area most appropriate to you. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and the new reception area has great facilities (internet/tv/tourist info/washing machines/dryers/vending machines). No need to be packing excess torches as the site is very well lit. When we were there it was a shame that the local strand bar was closed for refurb however we had great nights craic in Bella Vista restaurant/bar who are more than happy for you to just be drinking. Good corner store, bakery, off licence within walking distance. Fantasic view of Knockarea mountain which is definately worth a climb for the view alone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nuala2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Stayed at the caravan park in Strandhill on the May bank holiday weekend. We went for surf and despite the surf conditions not being the best we still enjoyed our stay. Great location being so close to the village we didn't need our vehicles for the whole weekend. Found the staff friendly and helpful. The toilets despite being in an old building had everything needed and was kept spotless by the staff. They seemed to have done a lot of work on the site, a beautiful brand new office block with games room, tv room and campers kitchen...thumbs up!!!!! All round i would definatly recomend this site.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sligo
0.0 km away
Strandhill Lodge, Hostel & Surf School
0.0 km away
Clifden ecoBeach Camping & Caravanning Park
0.0 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#19 of 21 in Sligo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
0.0 km away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Strandhill Road, Sligo, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Sligo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sligo
Price range (per night): $44 - $277
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Strandhill Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strandhill Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Sligo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing