We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed, slow and tiny portions for premium prices.”
Review of The Banyan Tree

The Banyan Tree
Ranked #14 of 511 Restaurants in Peterborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered take away, took ages and dissapointed. Tasty food but the portions are tiny and definitely not worth the above average prices. I ordered a Tiger Prawn Curry , they were definitely NOT Tiger Prawns as you would would expect for £15! Delivery very slow.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank stuart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2021

Popped in 3 minutes before opening time, 4 of us .We were welcomed and sat down. My pint of Kingfisher was a bit flat , replaced with a Cobra no hesitation.
I loved the food, Mysore Chilli Chicken and Lamb Biriani. Quick chat with owner on way out. Lovely chap. Can't wait to go back. Colin

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021

The Banyan Tree is one of our favourite restaurants and we've been here many many times over the years. I've also done several reviews which have mostly been excellent and if not very good.

We had dinner there on Saturday 12 June and this was our first visit since February 2020 due to lockdown. The restaurant still looks very nice and the waiting staff were friendly and efficient and the services was good.

Our starters of samosa chat and onion bhaji, the poppadoms and nan and the bhuna gosht were all good.

However the Goan fish curry, a dish I've had many times over the years, was sadly lacking. This is the first time ever it has been served to me with all the black skin still attached. This dish is normally full of flavour and has lots of zing but on this occasion it was really bland and very disappointing

A further disappointment was that the Cobra beer served to me was 4 months past it's best by date. (The waiter offered me an alternative)

I guess it could have just been one of these nights, or a change of chef, and we won't let one disappointing visit put us off. Hopefully next time it will be back to it's usual high standard

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

Being new to the area picked this from the Internet. Reviews sounded good and the menu had a few more authentic dishes on. So glad we did. Ordered on line and collected about 1/2 hour later. Food was really hot, well packaged. Not oily like some takeaway can be. The menu has so many different options. We will definitely be back again and look forward to the time when we can have a real sit down meal.
Can recommend enough. Thank you

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank 596AndreaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2020

Food (mixed meat sharing platter and fish curry) was delicious and service from all the staff was friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank G6731QKlynnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Banyan Tree also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Banyan Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.