We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$93
View deal
Booking.comUS$93
Hotels.comUS$93
PricelineUS$93
eDreamsUS$93
Trip.comUS$93
travelup.comUS$105
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
70
41
49
47
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
70
41
49
47
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and steam room afternoon tea difficult circumstances large wardrobe wonderful spa iron and board staying at this hotel a king size bed over christmas housekeeping staff breakfast was included three night stay special occasion a lovely stay town centre transmitter frederik
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Stayed for 4 night as part of a Group . Chaotic Check in, Staff not prepared for us, no promised refeshments on arrival. Good size rooms and Bathrooms ,Clean . However, using the Covid excuse , No Rooms cleaned or refreshed during stay. Had to request Clean Towels, Loo Rolls, Tea ,Milk etc at reception but Often request was ignored so had to request again. Very few trained staff ( in fairness i think this is being addressed), a Senior person has been brought in from another Hotel so i would hope things would pick up. Very good Breakfast, Average Food at Dinner but service slow each night. £15 for an hours Swim for residents !!!!!
A lovely setting , nice Terrace but needs a complete overhaul service wise..

Date of stay: September 2021
2  Thank dafona
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

No hairdryer, spare toilet roll or tissues in tissue box. No convenient plug sockets so could not plug CPAP machine in at night as none near bed. Reception never answers the phone. Good self service breakfast.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Ione G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Terrible dirty jacuzzi with hairs and white frothy chlorine no toiletries no bag to but swimming costumes scruffy flip-flops that looked like a dog had chewed them then the fire alarm went off and had to find someone to check it wasn't for real and not a test it was certainly no treatment still waiting for a response after two emails Horrible experience

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Bobcatsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

This used to be a favourite special place for me and the other half, unfortunately they have not come out of covid lockdown well. So to start this long diatribe of calamity, we arrived to be told the room wasn’t ready despite turning up when required, returned a couple of hours later to find the room ready to go in. We paid for the best room on the 5th floor this consisted of ceiling Light fittings flickering, wall lights hanging and bent either side of the bed, the carpets beside the bed looked like someone had an unfortunate accident that wasn’t cleared up, the walls in the hall and either side of the bed where covered in black marks and not wiped clean, the quilt was hanging out of the cover and on the floor, the pillows were not into the cases properly, the WC had old pee stains around the rim and the bath had hairs and the oldest anti slip mat you have ever seen (looks like the one my gran has had for 20 years) one roll of loo paper no tissues. No complimentary water. I could go on, We woke up at 4am the first night with bathroom covered in wasps urghhh The desk guy was fantastic came straight up and moved them all out probably about 30 – 50 wasps. We had a meal in the restaurant this was very average and the breakfast was minimalist the best way to describe it. We asked the first morning for our room to be serviced and towels changed, this didn’t happen ever I got some loo roll from the lad in the corridor. So not for me again im afraid despite having stayed over 10 times in the past. Oops forgot to mention if you want to just have a swim its £30.00 each

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank UnbiasedViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

This old dame of hotels has real history but sadly the modern day hotel is less than it should be. Big rooms and bathrooms have been upgraded but the old grandeur isn’t helped by everything being painted a dull taupe. Front desk service appalling - they never answer the phone, wear smart uniforms or appear to have any training in customer service. Service in the restaurant was good however and breakfast OK. But you can feel they are struggling with a lack of staff all round. Biggest issue is no blind in a bathroom with a giant visible window and the hotel just isn’t clean enough. Grubby corners, litter on balconies and in the garden, plates sitting in corridors all day, windows filthy. Operation needs tightening up all round and better training - bar staff without pens and pads to use is pretty pathetic.

Room tip: Best restaurant to use is Lucias and RHS Harlow Carr well worth a visit.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sherpa47847397738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews