We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$123
View deal
Expedia.com
US$114
View deal
Agoda.com
US$124
View deal
Hotels.comUS$114
PricelineUS$123
travelup.comUS$127
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
66
36
43
43
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
66
36
43
43
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas stay carters restaurant great power shower afternoon tea breakfast was included impressive hotel spa staff iron and board an enjoyable stay fantastic location public areas scones old building town centre other guests member of staff minute walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was a stay for an anniversary weekend and although a bit chaotic on arrival due to a wedding we were attentively seen to as HH members by Rooy.

Thereafter, we were recognised and acknowledged accordingly by Rooy and Kelly on reception as well as a young trainee.

Coming to the bar Jez was exceptional in his service, care and team leadership. Thank you.

Breakfast service was clean and efficient and reassuring in light of present climes.

One big gripe....£30 each to use the swimming pool.....£5 more than what the website said. The spa for treatments was booked 10 days beyond our stay. So get in quick.

But a classic, imposing English Hotel, nonetheless.

Room tip: Very narrow parking bays. So if you have a wide car, be selective where you park
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KevinVickyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

My experience was a sh*t show right from the beginning. We requested a spa day booking online through the website and after a few weeks of radio silence decided to get in touch to confirm. After multiple unanswered emails, Facebook messages and phone calls, we finally got a response 4 days before our proposed booking to organise our spa day. The woman on the phone was really helpful and all seemed to finally be well… but it gets worse. We were told to arrive an hour early for our treatments, so we were up early that morning to make sure we got the train on time as we live out of town. Once we arrived we were told our booking did not exist, we were not in the system at all (which made no sense as the lady on the phone rang us and got both of our details) and they were fully booked for the day so there was nothing they could do. Disappointing to say the least. We also heard the same excuse given to the group before us. The fact that this wasn’t an isolated incident is shocking. So we traveled all that way for nothing. The only up side was we were offered complimentary use of the facilities. The lack of organisation and communication made our experience extremely stressful. Would not recommend.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ChelsiSmithh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

Booked a spa package for our anniversary. After phoning and e-mailing I booked the times for booking in (2pm), spa (4pm) and dinner(8pm). We set off from the Isle of Man. On the motorway we received a phone call at 10am asking where we were. I explained that we were not in Harrogate yet as booking was for 4pm. They said we had missed the spa:-(

We got to the hotel and check in was not available.

We went to the spa and they apologised and admitted they were wrong and this was due to staffing and covid. They said they would give us a refund and gave us an afternoon tea to apologise. This refund is still not with us one month later. Lots of calls and e-mails and nothing!! Danielle the manager has not returned our call.

The hotel was nice enough but not enough staff and customer service not adequate.

I have complained to Hilton head office asking for our refund and the hotel have 5 days to respond….hopefully we get the refund but in general the anniversary was tainted.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank I945EJhelenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

Hmm. The interior of the hotel, room size and design etc are all very good. The service was average, a couple of staff friendlier than others but most people on the front desk struggled to smile. The room was well decorated and stylish but was very warm and there are no air con units. There was a fan but it didn’t help much. The final thing of note is that there is obviously a wasp issue, as there were were wasps all over the windowsill and staircase between floors 3 and 4 for over 24 hours. We told the reception who said they knew all about it, but over 24 hours later they were still there. We told reception again today who seemingly knew nothing about it. Overall it was an okay stay and is a good hotel, but communication and service could be worked on, definitely.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RachelH982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

We booked this hotel a long time ago so got a good deal using the Hilton Honours app, Friday and Saturday night in a king superior room for a total of £190.
After reading recent negative reviews I thought that we had made a massive mistake, and was worried about staying here, but turns out it wasn't bad at all. We had even packed antibacterial cleaning wipes so we could clean the room if needed, but we needn't have worried.
Using the app we were able to pick our room (fifth floor - the top one), and check in online and use my phone to get into the room, thus avoiding the queue at reception.
All the communal areas were very grand, clean and tidy as you would expect. Likewise the room was very good and nothing like the horror stories I've read on this site. Yes there were a couple of what looked like makeup stains on the carpet and walls but to be honest we only spotted them because we were looking for them, certainly nothing to complain about.
The room was very comfortable and we weren't bothered by any noise at all. The only negatives with the room that I can think of is that there is no air-conditioning, and it was very hot in there so we had to have the windows open and the desk-fan provided by the hotel on fully at all times. Also we only had 2 bath towels but no hand towel (a very minor inconvenience).
I couldn't give the hotel 5 out of 5 because there were a few negatives.
Firstly, if you are driving to the hotel you register your number plate and how long you are staying on a tablet. It may be an anomaly with using the Hilton app to check-in, but there doesn't seem to be a way of linking your car registration to your room. I did ask 3 times at reception about this but nobody could give me a definitive answer. The last time I asked I was told I would have to wait for a fine to arrive by post, and contact the hotel to get it overturned if it did. Not very convenient or satisfactory.
Also, by using the app to check-in you bypass the reception desk and miss out on your free cookies!
Another issue we had was that on our final morning we decided to take our bags down to the car early and go out for breakfast and a walk and pick up some last minute gifts.
We arrived back at the room at 11:20 (check out is at 12) but couldn't get back into our room. We asked a cleaner if she could let us in and were told that the room had already been cleaned because check-out is at 11 (it's definitely 12 o'clock!!). We can only assume that a cleaner had seen us taking our bags out earlier and decided we must have been checking out. It was very inconvenient as we wanted to freshen up before a long journey home and retrieve a carrier bag we'd left in the room that contained sweets and drinks for our journey. They had been removed from the room and were luckily still on the cleaners trolly.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I would definitely stay again. Just waiting for my parking fine to arrive now!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cymro_yn_Bwyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews