We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$113
View deal
Booking.comUS$124
Hotels.comUS$113
PricelineUS$124
eDreamsUS$124
TravelocityUS$113
Trip.comUS$112
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
66
36
43
43
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
66
36
43
43
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas stay carters restaurant great power shower afternoon tea breakfast was included impressive hotel spa staff iron and board an enjoyable stay fantastic location public areas scones old building town centre other guests member of staff minute walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Almost feel bad leaving this review to the hotel itself but it’s the only route I have for any way to vent at a £60 parking charge incurred for driving through this hotels car park when attending an event at the hotel and exhibition centre.

Hotel really need to choose better partners to work with as Parking Eye have given no genuine consideration to my appeal.

Money grabbing can only come back to haunt you in the form of bad reviews!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 72alanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a stay for an anniversary weekend and although a bit chaotic on arrival due to a wedding we were attentively seen to as HH members by Rooy.

Thereafter, we were recognised and acknowledged accordingly by Rooy and Kelly on reception as well as a young trainee.

Coming to the bar Jez was exceptional in his service, care and team leadership. Thank you.

Breakfast service was clean and efficient and reassuring in light of present climes.

One big gripe....£30 each to use the swimming pool.....£5 more than what the website said. The spa for treatments was booked 10 days beyond our stay. So get in quick.

But a classic, imposing English Hotel, nonetheless.

Room tip: Very narrow parking bays. So if you have a wide car, be selective where you park
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KevinVickyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My experience was a sh*t show right from the beginning. We requested a spa day booking online through the website and after a few weeks of radio silence decided to get in touch to confirm. After multiple unanswered emails, Facebook messages and phone calls, we finally got a response 4 days before our proposed booking to organise our spa day. The woman on the phone was really helpful and all seemed to finally be well… but it gets worse. We were told to arrive an hour early for our treatments, so we were up early that morning to make sure we got the train on time as we live out of town. Once we arrived we were told our booking did not exist, we were not in the system at all (which made no sense as the lady on the phone rang us and got both of our details) and they were fully booked for the day so there was nothing they could do. Disappointing to say the least. We also heard the same excuse given to the group before us. The fact that this wasn’t an isolated incident is shocking. So we traveled all that way for nothing. The only up side was we were offered complimentary use of the facilities. The lack of organisation and communication made our experience extremely stressful. Would not recommend.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ChelsiSmithh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a spa package for our anniversary. After phoning and e-mailing I booked the times for booking in (2pm), spa (4pm) and dinner(8pm). We set off from the Isle of Man. On the motorway we received a phone call at 10am asking where we were. I explained that we were not in Harrogate yet as booking was for 4pm. They said we had missed the spa:-(

We got to the hotel and check in was not available.

We went to the spa and they apologised and admitted they were wrong and this was due to staffing and covid. They said they would give us a refund and gave us an afternoon tea to apologise. This refund is still not with us one month later. Lots of calls and e-mails and nothing!! Danielle the manager has not returned our call.

The hotel was nice enough but not enough staff and customer service not adequate.

I have complained to Hilton head office asking for our refund and the hotel have 5 days to respond….hopefully we get the refund but in general the anniversary was tainted.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank I945EJhelenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

Hmm. The interior of the hotel, room size and design etc are all very good. The service was average, a couple of staff friendlier than others but most people on the front desk struggled to smile. The room was well decorated and stylish but was very warm and there are no air con units. There was a fan but it didn’t help much. The final thing of note is that there is obviously a wasp issue, as there were were wasps all over the windowsill and staircase between floors 3 and 4 for over 24 hours. We told the reception who said they knew all about it, but over 24 hours later they were still there. We told reception again today who seemingly knew nothing about it. Overall it was an okay stay and is a good hotel, but communication and service could be worked on, definitely.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RachelH982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews