We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for breakfast, lunch or just coffee and cake, especially if walking, cycling, canoeing or narrow boating.”
Review of The Stables Cafe

The Stables Cafe
Ranked #70 of 365 Restaurants in Gloucester
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I often take friends here for a coffee or lunch midweek. It has never disappointed, we usually make it a late lunch as it can get busy and we like to linger and chat! The staff are friendly and welcoming, the food is fresh and delicious and the cappuccinos are superb. The selection of cakes is wonderful.
I highly recommend this lovely spot beside the canal, always something interesting to watch on the water, even if it's only a few diving ducks!
It's also a great refreshment stop for a canoe or cycle trip, and worth planning the itinerary around.

Thank canoesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi235, Manager at The Stables Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Many thanks,
Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

A small cafe on the side of the canal serving great food and drinks,all freshly made and generous portions. Amazing selection of cakes.

Thank bikerchick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi235, Manager at The Stables Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Many thanks,
Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

My mother and I decided to have lunch here whilst watching my brother rowing! What a gem it was! we had two toasties and chips, one a sausage, cheddar and red onion chutney the other Brie,cranberry and bacon.
No other words than delicious! What great flavours!! It makes a change to have proper food rather than brought in ready made toasties and panini's!! Reasonably priced, great service!
Would recommend to anyone in the area!
Great job!!!

Thank rowersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naomi235, Manager at The Stables Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!
Many thanks,
Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Have used this venue a few times for breakfast and once for a snack lunch.
On all occasions the food was excellent. Although there was a short wait I would put this down to all the food being freshly prepared. Faced with the local alternatives of Garden centers and chain pubs this wins hands down. At least you can have a tea or coffee whilst you wait in very pleasant surroundings, with always something to watch going on on the canal, rather than wait whilst a child "barrister" takes 20 minutes to produce a coffee.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmgroupkate, Manager at The Stables Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

We are pleased to hear you've enjoyed your visits to our cafe!

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Hope you see you again soon!

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We've been to the Stables on a number of occasions and have always been really pleased with our experience. The cooked breakfasts are excellent and cooked to order. The sandwiches we had for lunch were also excellent and very filling. If you only want a cake, there are lots of delicious tray bakes to choose from among other cakes. If you're having a walk along the canal, it's a great place for a coffee and cake but equally good for breakfast or lunch. Staff are great too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bigdom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmgroupkate, Manager at The Stables Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thank you for your very kind comments, its always appreciated to hear feedback!

We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Naomi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Cafe also viewed

Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Frampton on Severn, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Stables Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing