We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
271
245
78
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
245
78
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pride park room was clean beans harvester pub city centre chiquitos free wifi complimentary breakfast the sofa bed alton towers football stadium football ground train station football match ice machine nice breakfast stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Recently stayed here and very disappointed the only good thing that I can say is the helpful lady receptionist!!! The rooms were without being rude disgusting the carpets were stained, the bathroom tiles looked to be filthy and the grouting was a rusty colour on the floor and walls truly awful. The shower looked to be about 20 years newer than the rest of the bathroom, but the shower was so inadequate absolutely no get up and go the tap on the basin was 100 times faster!!! The room had a dreadful musty smell and the cups and tea spoons on the complimentary beverages tray were unclean and the outside of cups were rough as if the dishwasher had only done a quick rinse rather than a full deep clean. The bed appeared on the surface to be clean, but the mattress felt a tad lumpy? The breakfast OMG There were at least 8 tea cups that were still stained with rings round them set on trays as clean again the outside were obviously unclean again needed to have a thorough wash in th dishwasher. I ended up having orange juice as the glasses did at least look clean!! The plates were exactly the same on the outside gross. Thankfully the toast was nice, but bacon was undercooked and fatty, the sausage looked plastic, baked beans were cold and scrambled egg looked like yellow bits of styrofoam and tasted of nothing extremely bland. On a positive note the croissants appeared to be fresh. Sorry about the negatives, but I have been 100% honest with my comments

Room Tip: Sorry I can't promote this hotel
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear RS,

I am sorry to read of your unsatisfactory stay , it is very unusual for the hotel to receive comments such as yours.

All of the hotel bedrooms, were refurbished in 2016 (including new carpets) and therefore I am really disappointed that the standards of cleanliness fell short of your expectations. The housekeeping team do work very hard to maintain high standards any your feedback will be addressed with them.
Similarly, I will investigate your concerns regarding the standard of cleaning in the breakfast area as I agree that it is unacceptable for stained dishes to be on display. I would like to reassure you that we do follow very strict food hygiene procedures at all times during food service.

Thank you for your positive comments about the staff that you encountered during your short stay , I do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Regards
Angela
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

First visit to this hotel, warm friendly welcome. Very helpful ordered a taxi to get to county cricket ground
Room large and clean along with the great free breakfast available up to 09:30
We would stay again without doubt

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Leslie H,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Derby.

I am really happy that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you were impressed with the levels of customer service that you received.

Its great to know that you would stay with us again if you visit the Derbyshire area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Angela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We thought this was a lovely hotel with a large bed in a good size bedroom including a good shower ideal for our purpose. Excellent breakfast with cereals, hot selection and croissants etc. 2 good size restaurants 2 mins walk. But Beware!!! Parking is for residents only and apparently there is a terminal in the reception to input your reg but this was not explained to us and consequently we received a £100 parking fine. The hotel are hopefully getting this stopped but it was quite a shock to find this in my post.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank moggridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Moggridge,

Thank you for your 5* review of the Holiday Inn Express Derby/.

I am sorry that you were not made fully aware of the parking system that we have at the hotel, this is in place to ensure that parking spaces are readily available for our valued guests. I do apologise that this was not explained properly to you at check in , I will speak to the hotel team again to make certain that this important message is conveyed to all guests.

I am pleased that this did not have too negative an affect on your stay with us and that you have scored the hotel very highly in all areas.
It is lovely to know that you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast , which now has the addition of bacon, this is of course included in all of our rates.

I do hope that you will be back to visit us soon.

Kind Regards
Angela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

hotel was nice breakfast was good but the double beds are small, we expected a bigger bed but its like a quarter bed so not very big at all no safe in the room and only 1 tea bag each , there is a hairdryer aswell.

Room Tip: any rooms are ok just need bigger beds
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Debbie G,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay .

I am pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast, which is included in all of our overnight rates.
Our beds are a standard double or single size, I do apologise if these were not too your liking.
On a positive note, I am happy to see that you have given us a high score in relation to service.

I do hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to Derby.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Couldn't fault our stay here. The room was modern and had air conditioning which was much appreciated on a muggy night. Breakfast was of a high standard and offered plenty of choice. We were allowed to leave our car in the car park after we checked out until around 4pm. We paid £56 for our stay here and it was money well spent.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FrequentTravellerNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Holiday Inn Express Derby.

I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you found that the hotel offered everything that you needed.

We do work very hard to maintain high standards in hotel and it is great to know that your were impressed with all areas.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews