We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing ”
Review of The Bottle Kiln

The Bottle Kiln
Ranked #60 of 641 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: An independent shop and café stocking a beautiful array of homewares and gifts and serving homemade pies, quiche, salads, cakes and delicious fresh coffee!
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch a family of 5, bitterly disappointed with the choice of food, the food did look good but no sandwiches, just soup, quiches, jacket pots and cakes. It needs more choice on the menu! The staff didn’t seem to know who was next in the queue resulting in my family member being ignored! Trays were being pushed in between us whilst queuing, just chaos! It’s very expensive for what you get. We won’t be going again.

3  Thank Helen121967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Helen

Thank you very much for your feedback we do appreciate people’s experiences of the bottle kiln.

You may be unaware but we are currently undergoing a process of change with exactly some of your thoughts in mind. The queuing system which is currently in place we agreed is quite chaotic and stressfull at times for both the customer and the staff, in consideration of this we are moving to table service after we complete our renovation of the bottom section in mid April.
We are also looking to expand our current menu over the next couple to offer a much more variation of products in line with the table service we will be offering.

We sincerely apologise for what you felt was a poor offering and a poor experience overall. However I do hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to change that opinion and do invite you back to the Bottle kiln for a much more pleasurable experience.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2018

Taken here by a friend, I was delighted to find such a lovely restaurant and shopping area.
The restaurant has an intimate seating area, with a more open area to one side.
All foods are homemade and promise top quality. Details of foods available are clearly displayed. The menu is extensive to say the least. Lunch is quiche or pie with salad. All looking delicious. Jackets and soup are available with sides also being available. VG and gluten-free items are available. Eight coffees, five speciality teas and seven infusions are on offer. The restaurant is licensed.
Pud is a difficult choice of scones, tray bake or scone or intimidatingly huge portions of cake. On the day of our visit, the Victoria sponge was topped with fresh fruit.
Take away items are available. The deli offers a good range of savouries too.

The neighbouring shopping area is lovely, with four main areas being available. Yes, the items are quite individual and are priced accordingly, but it is good to know that when that special gift is needed, this outlet would be able to provide it for you.

The bottle kiln, central to the whole area, is a true delight and triumph of preservation and refurbishment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JANET B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

I visited today with a friend and our 6 week old babies. There was quite a long queue but the lady organising tables couldn’t have been more helpful - offered me a seat to feed my baby when we thought he wasn’t going to settle while we queued, found us a table with space for pram & car seat, helped carry our food to the table, helped get the pram up the steps, checked back on us and even spotted when we were ready to leave to let us out the fire exit so we didn’t have to go back through the cafe & shop. Long queues can’t always be helped, but the service we received was excellent and that’s what matters. And the homemade pie was delicious too!

Thank car0lmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1514
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

This place is fantastic. We travel all the way from Lincoln every so often.
The food is simply divine. The quiches and pies are a revelation to your taste buds. The salads are made from the freshest ingredients.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Well worth the trip and i'll be visiting again as soon as i can.
Well done .

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

It’s so wonderful when we get reviews like yours it makes all the hard work our staff put in worthwhile.
We really do appreciate all our customers who come to the kiln and are proud that people travel so far just to visit us. Hope to see you Back in the kiln in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Passed here many many times over the years but actually called in today Thursday 15th march 2018.
Went around the shop 1st but would have gone outside but was raining. Was very busy but did manage to get a seat. We only had toast and drinks which were very nice and a decent price.
Only 2 criticism's tables were too close and we had a job getting in our seats and others were having same problem. Other was having to wait for the toast, why not give table number and deliver to the table.
Will probably go again when sunny

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adyval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W, Manager at The Bottle Kiln, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at the bottle kiln. We are glad the overall you had a pleasurable / positive experience.

In response to your 2 Critisisms we have recently renovated our top section with new tables and chairs and the layout is a work in progress. We do appreciate the feedback because the customer experience is very important to us. In response to your wait for toast again we are currently operating a counter system but in April when we complete our renovations we are moving to a table service as you had suggested.

All in all we really do appreciate all our customers feedback and hope to see you back in the kiln in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bottle Kiln also viewed

 

Been to The Bottle Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;