We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$92
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aston Court Hotel(Derby)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
19
34
27
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
34
27
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster beddark woodhaunted roomown brewerypleasant hotelan upgradetown centrestayed nightsfamily roomwould stay againshutterscobwebsweddingpubs
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed there with my husband as did two of our friends in order to attend my daughter's 30th birthday party. The staff could not have been more welcoming the location was ideal for both the venue and Derby city centre.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank junecarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Pleasant hotel nearly 300 years old full of character. We stayed in a reputedly haunted room 12 which was in fairness very pleasant with carved wooden four poster bed and large bathroom. The bar area was busy and felt like a traditional country pub and the restaurant area was separate, comfortable and maintained the antique charm of the building. We had dinner, which was really a pub grub style menu but the steak and Stilton pie was delicious and with generous portions. My wife enjoyed a very well cooked steak. We stayed 2 nights and as the hotel is just outside the town centre, ideally located. Furthermore, parking is good and the seating/garden area at the back is quite lovely and lends itself perfectly for functions and weddings. In terms of criticism I have a couple. The breakfast which was £9 each we both felt was very poor, to the point that we ate breakfast elsewhere on our second day. There was nobody around to help, or seat/greet us, no tea (there was coffee) , no yoghurt or fruit (other than a few sorry looking pieces in a bowl that had seen better days! ) and when someone eventually did poke their head around the corner they appeared to be quite 'put out' at my request for a poached egg. .other criticism were also having had the tiniest portion of shower gel and no actual soap to wash hands with. The toilet also did not flush properly.

All in all though the hotel was quite charming in spite of these small critiques (apart from breakfast which really needs to improve), we would stay again however as the staff (especially in the bar) were very friendly, regaling us with some of their ghost stories and history of the place.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rosierose1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here a few times and really like the bar.
Room 21 is pretty grim, was cold on arrival, cheap uncomfortable mattress, dirty carpet, only a bath with no shower fitting.

£60 for a night without breakfast (could have added it for £9)
Won’t stay again... if it was £30 a night I might do but that is all it’s worth!
Please note room 21 is a “none smoking room”

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Miles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Booked here for a getaway that was within walking distance of Derby.
Upon arrival it wasn't clear how to get to reception!
Once we got to our room we may as well have been outside! The room was freezing. No amount of tinkering with the radiator helped. Had to speak to reception only to be told the heating was on a timer and it wasn't time yet. However they did overide the settings and put it on for the duration of our stay.
The room was lovely, even though the decor was dated. The bed was comfy. Tea and coffee facilities provided, even biscuits! Large dressing table area with mirror for getting ready with sockets for hair dryer and straighteners etc.

Bathroom was modern, but small. No heating of any kind though. Shower area was large, easily room for two! However no shelving to place wash stuff so had to put on the floor.

Breakfast was lovely. Choice of cereals, and fruit. Coffee, and juice.
We opted for a cooked breakfast. Bacon was decent quality, very little fat and very thick. Sausages were tasty. Generous sized breakfast. Very filling.

Staff were lovely and helpful. Overall, lovely stay but the place could do with some TLC.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip to Derby as our house is in the middle of having works done. On arrival at the hotel, parking was to the rear but not much parking luckily for us there was 1 space. We entered through the back entrance which was abit confusing but got directed to reception, check in was nice and easy. We were allocated Room 20, as we opened the door the chill hit us but we thought it may have been empty for a while. It's single glazed with a crack in one of the panes so that doesn't help, the wooden shutters & curtains were drawn straight away to keep the draft out!! The room is quite spacious with a nice 4 poster bed, large flat screen tv and huge bathroom with shower over bath. We unpacked as didn't arrive until 7 and wanted to get out for food. We took our jackets off and honestly it felt colder in the room than it did outside. The radiator wasn't on but thought the whole hotel may have been on a timer, there was a small electric heater on the fireplace which we put on, it's far too small to heat the room efficiently. The bathroom is fully tiled so you can imagine how cold it is as the towel rail wasn't working. But we got ready & went out. It's a nice 10 minute walk to the centre, I cannot recommend The Belfry Steakhouse enough the food was out of this world!! The room wasn't as chilly when we got back as we had left the heater on but as soon as we turned it off the temperature dropped again. There were many layers on the bed thankfully and it was all clean and comfy. The other soft furnishings could do with a deep clean aswell as the carpets. I know I am going on abit but the next morning it was too cold to get out of bed!! I checked the radiator which was still off and the pipe was wet so I'm not sure if it's broken!! We didn't stay for breakfast as wanted to get out and warm up. Another note there wasn't even a full roll of toilet roll in our room and had to be very cautious of this in the morning. There was no hair dryer or iron but I found a unit on our landing which had them in. We didn't try the bar so can't comment. When we checked out I advised the receptionist that I think there was an issue with the heating, her response made me think they were already aware "Oh thanks for letting us know we will look into this" hmmm. It's a real shame as this could be a lovely hotel just needs a deep clean and the heating fixed safe to say we won't be rushing back. We walked through a lovely sitting room/restaurant on our way out which had a lovely fire burning in it we would have gone for breakfast if we had known this.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews