We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (873)
Filter reviews
873 results
Traveller rating
415
276
104
46
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
276
104
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conservatory restaurant hand picked hotel handpicked hotels afternoon tea lovely hotel wedding party scones country house wedding breakfast lovely setting glass of champagne dvd player executive room cream tea lovely room breakfast was excellent eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 873 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Have to start by saying that when we got out for special occasions as a group, we usually head to Tylney Hall, but this can get "samey" (lucky us!) so we looked around for another venue to celebrate a "big" birthday this time. We'd used Audley's Wood for conferences in the past so we thought we would give it a try. On arrival the hotel looked pretty and imposing, grounds well maintained and parking areas clearly marked. Likewise the reception and public areas. We were directed into the dining room and an attendant showed us to our table. The room was bright and elegant and it being a beautiful day, the doors to the garden were open to let in cool air. We would like to have been seated by a window but the tables for six had all been placed in the middle of the room - don't recall seeing round tables, which also would have been our preference, it's not easy to chat to everyone around a rectangular table. Just a point that a lot of hotel dining rooms should consider! As we waited for the others to arrive, my friend requested a glass of water. This was not forthcoming and we had to ask twice, despite the dining room being empty bar a table of 3. There were many waiting staff bustling around, but none of them made any kind of contact with us, in fact we felt a little ignored. Finally all of our group of 6 had arrived and we waited for service. Again, this was very slow in coming, one lady seemed to have been left to do everything while others tidied napkins etc and chatted. Now for the pluses: Once service began, the meal itself was great. We were given selection boxes of the teas available with bottles to open and smell. Orders were placed and we were asked if anyone had dietary requirements. A friend requested granary bread sandwiches and she was given a separate plate of these, the afternoon tea for the rest of us came along in interesting "Japanese" style wooden cabinets. The selection was tasty and generous - each of us had four finger sandwiches, two scones with jam and cream, and I think 5 different mini cakes, all delicious. We were offered refills of our various teapots. Overall this was a lovely afternoon with a very tasty afternoon tea, if they were more proactive with service the experience would have been more special - aside from the lady who looked after us, who was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Audleys wood hotel on tripadvisor. We always aim for afternoon tea to be a relaxing and indulgent experience and were really pleased to note that you enjoyed your afternoon tea celebrations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

My sister & I took our mum here for birthday afternoon tea. We came an hour earlier as it was a nice day & we wanted to sit outside for cocktails. Unfortunately, we were not greeted in the best of ways. The lady behind the bar was doing a stock check & didn’t even turn around to say hello when we walked in! We asked for a cocktail menu which we were given and she just turned around again and continued with her stock check. We then chose what we’d like & then had to ask if we could order, to which we were told “just give me a minute” while she continued with the stock check. Ordered our drinks and said we were going to sit outside. My mum then said do we need to let anyone know we’re here for afternoon tea, to which she replied “yeh you’ve already told me you’re going outside” in quite an abrupt way. Rude. We then walked past reception and asked how we got outside - the man behind the desk was far more interested in his phone and briefly just looked up, said “through the double doors on the right” and back to his phone. We went to sit outside feeling a little like we had inconvenienced the staff so far. Then came the saviour of the day - Sally came out with our drinks with a massive smile on her face.. she was so kind & welcoming. She took some photos of us, made conversation & nothing was too much trouble. We found out the rude lady behind the bar was in fact the manager, would have expected a lot more from a manager of a nice hotel. Sally is an asset to the team, and perhaps some of the other staff should take some tips on how to make their guests feel more welcome! The afternoon was actually lovely, beautiful gardens & hotel, just a shame some of the staff let this place down. Thank you to Sally for making my mums birthday afternoon so enjoyable!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank lauramA7403LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Audleys wood hotel on tripadvisor. May we offer our sincere apologies that your initial welcome was not as it should have been, we were pleased to note the Sally turned this around, I will certainly pass on your kind words to her. Kind regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

I had to organise my '40-something' sister's Hen Do and she didn't want to do anything too naff. I booked the private dining room at Audleys Wood Hotel, plus overnight stay and breakfast for 10 girls. The hotel staff were absolutely amazing, I cannot rate them highly enough, as they just couldn't do enough to help make sure our stay was perfect.
I had booked a screen in the private dining, so I could play a video to the hen, but due to a slight technical issue, I couldn't get the video to play. The staff at the hotel kept coming back to me with options to try and make the laptop work - and wouldn't give up until they got the video to play. Most places would have just given up saying "it doesn't work'.
The package that I'd booked gave us pre dinner champagne and a 3 course dinner, which was ordered on the night. The menu had a good selection for meat eaters and vegetarian and everyone in our party commented on how delicious each option was.
We had double twin rooms, which were great quality and the beds very comfy.
Breakfast was again fab quality, with plenty of choice.
It was again however, the staff service that I want to highlight. Chatty, helpful staff at breakfast - and again they couldn't do enough to help our party.
The hotel is set in lovely grounds, but we didn't have time to wander round, but it meant that most rooms had a lovely green view.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Jo,

Thank you for your kind review of Audleys wood hotel following your recent stay for a hen party. We were really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and dinner and found the team to be amazing, I will certainly relay your kind words.
Best wishes
Willliam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

top quality food, very professional waiter, slight issue with room which was immediately rectified and despite an alarming wakening at 5am Sunday to the fire alarm, we had a great stay, enjoying quality time together in fantastic surroundings.
Would happily recomend to others, and I’d say that the price was very reasonable too.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Audleys wood hotel, we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and dinner. May we offer our sincere apologies for the disturbance caused by the fire alarm on Sunday morning, fortunately after the team investigated it was a false alarm.
Best wishes
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We chose a magical package here that did not deliver from point of booking. When urged to fone ahead for restaurant bookings the call was treated like an inconvenience. The hotel looks good outside but has little promised relaxing space. It was our anniversary and not one member of staff mentioned it. The restaurant food is the biggest let down, far below standard and more similar to ‘pub food’ but at greatly inflated prices with slow service. Complaints to staff were met with a familiar acceptance with no remedy even offered.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mah0ney5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Manager at Audleys Wood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review Audleys wood hotel, we were disappointed to learn that you did not fully enjoy your visit. May we offer our sincere apologies that you felt the restaurant offering was not up to scratch, we will certainly keep your comments in mind as we plan our new summer menu. Thank you for your valued feedback.
William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews