We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
55
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
55
1
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2020

I've been meaning to do a review so as we are all "stay at home" now is my chance. We had tea at outside the Limes on a fete/event day with a view to book a future weekend. The rooms are lovely and the landlady welcoming , if not a bit over chatty with the hard sell. Tea & sandwiches in the afternoon overlooking the green was delightful until about 5 pm. Then we heard a barrage of loud profanity that even my husband winced at as 3 doors down there is a "working men's club". They were all on the patio of the club using an assortment of undesirable language that was loud to hear. One of the attractions of the Limes is it's tranquillity ........ but the working men's club & it's clientele "to hear" was NOT. So thank you for the wonderful tea & sandwiches but we wouldn't want to risk our weekend with your neighbours. For the place itself I would give 4 but the neighbours takes it down to an overall 2. It's a shame. I have attached a photo showing the proximity.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank madambarletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

This B&B is a gorgeous period property in a perfect location overlooking the Green. Sonia the host is just wonderful, friendly, welcoming, lots of information on attractions in the area, so much knowledge. The food is absolutely delicious with the most divine selection, yogurt, fruit, serials etc, which leaves you short of nothing. The english breakfast is cooked to perfection with first class ingredients. The large bedroom was gorgeous, having on suite shower room. The large bed very comfortable & there was lots of storage space.
This has to be one of the best B&B’s we have stayed in. Thank you Sonia for looking after us so well in your wonderful house.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank V2940SFmichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limesonthegreen, Owner at The Limes on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with me and were able to explore the great attractions in Kent. It would be lovely to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Sonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We were again very fortunate to stay at the Limes, our second stay in three years, and both were excellent, and a good value for the cost. Sonia is a charming and gracious host, and has thought of every detail for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

We were apprehensive as we approached our first visit, having never stayed at a B&B, but were quickly welcomed and made at home. Bearsted is a quick and easy direct train ride from London, and The Limes are worth a day or two away from the big city. No car needed if you don't have one- while it may look like a hike on the map from the train station, the Limes is at best a five minute, luggage-friendly walk. Several restaurants and shops are nearby, along with hourly trains for day trips back to London, neighboring Maidstone, Leeds Castle, Sissinghurst Castle or further to Dover or Brighton. On our first trip, Sonia even arranged for a private antique car tour back and forth to see the White Cliffs of Dover, with the requisite stop at the pub for a pint.

The house has two suites, both are equally roomy and comfortable, quiet and private. The bed was large, amazingly comfortable, with every British amenity we could think of, from a selection of teas and snacks, Pear's soap, local books and brochures and space to spread out.

We entertained our local relatives during our stay, using the lounging and breakfast rooms as though we were at home. Although there was another couple when we stayed, we never knew it, and felt as though we were the only guests.

The garden and outdoor lounging areas are welcoming and available anytime, and Sonia is happy to share gardening tips and seeds.

Breakfast was an excellent start to the day, changing daily, with essentially an unlimited menu on request. Sonia's repertoire on her classic AGA range included American and British fare, and anything in-between. Timing is very flexible, early or late as needed.

In summary, The Limes will absolutely be on our itinerary for our next stay.

Room tip: Both rooms have a great view and comfort- one with an open tub/shower, the other an enclosed shower.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We arrived to a warm welcome from our hostess and stayed overnight in this lovely B&B in the top floor bedroom overlooking the village green. The bedroom was pretty and comfortable and had an en suite bathroom with lots of nice finishing touches such as Pears soap, fluffy towels and bathrobes. The house is absolutely delightful. Breakfast was totally delicious using excellent quality ingredients, we even had warm rhubarb freshly picked from the garden. Would highly recommend this place!

Room tip: The top floor bedroom is really delightful with a view over the village green
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank galangal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We booked this as we were going to Music on the Green over the bank holiday weekend. We were greeted by Sonia the owner who let us take our bag up to our room before going over to the Green. Beautiful room overlooking the Green. Tea/Coffee facilities, TV, shower room. We were asked the night before when we'd like breakfast. When we got downstairs the table was laid with an array of cereals, fresh fruit, raspberries, picked from the garden, yoghurt and orange juice. We had a full English breakfast with black pudding (much to the delight of my fiancée) and plumped for eggs done on the Aga. There is Bersted station near by and a golf course near by.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scholefieldschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews