We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless food and service”
Review of The British Raj

The British Raj
Ranked #36 of 120 Restaurants in Dartford
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Arrived quite late at hotel after a long journey. Recommended as a good Indian restaurant by hotel. Food top quality and service attentive and quick.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

Always very tasty and great food. Always arrives hot and reasonable time.
Would definitely recommend this. Haven't eaten in the restaurant yet but looks ok.

1  Thank MickeyHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Because it was full, which is a good sign. I've been here a number of times over the years and I have never been disappointed by the food or the service. They have a good range of dishes and you do not have to have something too spicy. Don't worry if you don't like too much chilli, some of the dishes are very mild but are still full of flavour and are all the better for it. If you prefer mild try the passanda. The lemon shatkora style is a little warmer but still not very hot. Also try the okra side dish. And the mushroom rice.
Yes, they do have hot too. When the menu says its hot, believe it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Fantastic meal ,the restuarant always seems to be full of regular customers always a good sign, great staff .nothing too much trouble .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Please do not go. Worst food. Raw chicken. Dont waste ur time n money . We ordered butter chicken chickpeas and some rice . All were disgrace to indian cuisine . Matter of fact none of the chef or owners are from india. Regret the night I ordered from them . Had to sleep hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank nikbaroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amranhussain, Owner at The British Raj, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

thank you for your review i would just like to point a few things out
1) 85% of indian restaurants in the uk are not owned by indians
2) all our chicken is precooked so there is not a chance you would have got raw chicken
3) here at the british raj in stone we do not have a butter chicken chickpeas dish on our menu
4) i have checked all my orders for the last week and we have not had a order for butter chicken
here at the british raj stone we like to keep all our customers happy if there was a problem with the dish we would have changed it for any thing else or have offered you a full refund
if theres any thing you would like to discuss please call the restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The British Raj also viewed

 

Been to The British Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing