We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$117
View deal
eDreamsUS$117
PricelineUS$117
FindHotelUS$117
Agoda.comUS$117
TripadvisorUS$117
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
150
47
27
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
150
47
27
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday carvery golf break golfing weekend driving range round of golf pro shop afternoon tea staff were lovely excellent value for money golfers cabin rounds accommodation fairways society veg bunker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

I go quite regularly for the sunday lunch but over the last few weeks the service has really dropped off. If we didn't enjoy the food as much we would find somewhere else to go. There doesn't seem to be any real coordination of servers which tables they are waiting on. We arrived when it was quite quiet and lots of staff standing around talking. Get seated and went up for the carvery, 15 minutes to get 2 drinks by which time we had nearly finished our mains. Bill came and we were charged for 4 deserts instead of 2.How is that possible? Cracking food but god the service is poor.
Would give 5 stars for the food but the service really let's the place down and unfortunately this is becoming a regular occurrence.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jamontoast74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2020

Thank you for your review. We lost our food and beverage manager in January with immediate effect which left us short on managerial presence on a Sunday. On top of this we have taken on new casual staff who are still being trained in Sunday service and to add to this, yesterday, our till and ordering system went down meaning everything became very slow. Our new food and beverage manager, Lisa, visited as many tables as possible to explain the situation and we dealt with the unfortunate situation as best as possible.
We are sure the service will improve and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2019

Family Carvery trip to Calderfields. It was the first time we had visited so we had high expectations.

The service throughout the meal was very good. We were seated very quickly and drinks orders taken.

Starter wasn’t bad however there weren’t many prawns hiding under the huge portion of sauce on the prawn cocktail.

The Carvery wasn’t bad. Great choice of vegetables and meat. However I felt the Carvery was let down a little by what looked like almost burnt roast potatoes and a one size fits all gravy. The gravy in my opinion was too strong for port and would have been way to strongly flavoured for turkey.

Despite the negatives I would certainly give the Calderfields another go as the atmosphere and service were very good and maybe the potatoes were a one off.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank airfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan L, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2019

Thank you for your fair review and constructive comments. I have passed the comments about the starter back to our chef. Regarding the gravy, we understand your views, but, the gravy is the talking point among our 500 weekly visitors and proves very popular with most.
We value your comments and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2019

Went here with family for afternoon tea. Beautiful location, staff very friendly and efficient. Tea was very good with an abundance of tea or coffee, of varying varieties. Lots of cakes and good variety of finger sandwiches.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan L, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2019

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2019

I would highly recommend Calderfields to celebrate your special occasions. Today we celebrated a friends baby shower and the event organisers were very welcoming. Dave, Adam, Becca and Acacia thankyou so much! From start to finish you couldn't have done anymore for us. The food was delicious and great value for money and the room was beautifully decorated.

All in all, a brilliant venue, most wonderful and friendly staff and Emma was delighted.

Thankyou

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah069s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan L, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2019

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that our team looked after you so well. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2019

Drove into this venue to play golf, and the car park completely covered in mud, rubble and debris! Covered my car in absolute filth and dirt! Wouldn't recommend this place as the driving into the place is absolutely disgusting! Didn't even bother with the golf as soon as I got out my car and seen the mud all over it really annoyed me! AVOID AVOID AVOID!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank danny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan L, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

To anyone reading this post, this gentleman has been banned from our venue for trying to sabotage our golf shop. Unfortunately people sometimes take to trip adviser as a way of revenge.

We are currently building a new 9 hole golf course and from time to time our car park becomes muddy. We do our utmost to clean the car park ourselves and also employ a commercial road sweeper once a week. This construction work will be over in 2020.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews