We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$116
View deal
eDreamsUS$116
FindHotelUS$116
PricelineUS$116
Agoda.comUS$116
TripadvisorUS$116
StayForLong
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
150
47
27
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
150
47
27
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday carvery golf break golfing weekend driving range round of golf pro shop afternoon tea staff were lovely excellent value for money golfers cabin rounds accommodation fairways society veg bunker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2021

very disappointed with the quality and quantity of the food as it was only luke warm and served on a child's carvery plate a very big difference from last we visited. the price has also increased which wouldn't be so bad it the food quality and quantity had stayed the same.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank trazetrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As per my comments on the previous review, On this date we were experiencing supplier issues which led to the inconsistent service you experienced. I am pleased however, to confirm that normal service has resumed and we would encourage you to return to our quiz and curry nights to experience the improvement from your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021

First time back for curry and quiz, I dont like rice so normally just have curry poppadom and nan bread. The portion of curry I received was meager that I went back and got some chips disappointed no salad. The plate and chips were cold and the curry was lukewarm but tasty. Didnt appear to have a veggie option. We did mention about the temperature of plate and food and was told he would look into. Didnt return with any feedback. Very disappointing since the price has increased but quantity and quantity has decreased rather than increased.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pongo1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Pongo1967,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. On this date we were experiencing supplier issues which led to the inconsistent service you experienced. I am pleased however, to confirm that normal service has resumed and we would encourage you to return to our quiz and curry nights to experience the improvement from your last visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in the cabins end of july on a friends golfing weekend.

The cabins are basic with 2 single beds, TV and a kettle but perfectly fine for somewhere to get your head down.

The restaurant and its staff were great, breakfast and evening meal were included in our deal and none of the group of 8 I was with had any complaints on the food nor the service.

The course itself was in a very good condition, with only a couple of the greens being patchy due to the amount of hot weather we've had no doubt, the tees were good. The course is a bit tight and favours straight hitting, with some feature holes over water. It was the first time we'd played here and everyone said they would like to go back so take that as a good endorsement.

Plenty of facilities with buggies, driving range, putting and chipping greens and pro shop on site.

Would definitely recommend

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank dazzafoster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Dazza,

Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic and kind review. We would love to see you and your party back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021

Went on a golf trip for the second time to Calderfields with a few mates at the start of July. Last visited in 2017 and the golf course hasn’t changed much. What I found most disappointing was the condition of the greens. It didn’t look like much work had gone into them. The course itself isn’t bad for society golf as the rough is generous and the fairways are really nice. With the boom since Covid, the 10 minute tee times aren’t great as there are alot of beginner golfers out on the course and the intervals really slow the rounds down with a back log on the fairways.

The biggest positive are the staff and how friendly they are around the facility. They are great and can’t do more for you.

Having been twice now, I would recommend a trip where you’re not just going for golf because if I’m honest, it’s not that exciting considering the volume of groups out on course, you’d expect a better standard. Brilliant if it’s a weekend away with your pals and you want friendly, happy environment

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank M466WGjoshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2021

Dear Smudge,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have recently appointed a new head green keeper who has fresh ideas and he and his team are striving to raise the profile of the course. I am delighted to learn that our staff looked after you well and you enjoyed the venue as a whole. We would welcome you back again to experience the change soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2021

I recently took my mom here for afternoon tea and I can highly recommend it, the staff were lovely, the chef was very accommodating and we had a great time. The food and cakes were delicious, offering a good variety and the chef had really gone the extra mile adding edible flowers on the cake stands that he had grown himself, it was nice to try them! The presentation was gorgeous and it was an ideal place for a good old natter over tea and cakes. It was also excellent value for money.

Date of stay: June 2021
1  Thank span27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Lowe, General Manager at Calderfields Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2021

Thank you for your kind review. We are very proud of the food our kitchen team presents and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews