We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING”
Review of Thomas James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thomas James Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Oh my god where to start..well arrived Sarurday had to go to the bar to inform them that we had booked a room for one night eventually when they spoke to us that is barman replied go upstairs and I will be with you so my friend and I opened the two doors to go through to get to reception to firstly be greeted by a terrible smell we just looked at each other. Barman eventually came up then cudnt find booking so wish he hadn't so then showed to our room in the pitch black as no light worked outside our door so we used our mobile phones to put key in lock it got worse in the room it was utterly filthy we went down to bar to ask for another room Barman said he will have to ask manager who was actually sitting on bar stool drinking his beer we heard him sat tell them we are fully booked they didn't even be bothered to put a light bulb in manager very rude he just didn't want to no.
My friend and I just said it's one nite so we stayed out most of the nite and went back to room for a couple of hours before 45 mins drive absolutely shattered no way we was sleeping in that bed we didnt even want to shower we got changed and couldn't wait to get home and shower and wash hair have supplied photos please everyone please don't stay here it's a wonder it can actually be aloud to trade unbelievable such a dump.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Stayed here 2 nights.room was cheapish.breakfast is nice in the bar.
Rooms are pretty average,a few cheap simple repairs would improve things.
My only gripe was the toilet seat in room 17 is m.d.f and delaminating underneath
With pee.and no window handle! Apart from that no probs.but for the sake of £20-40
Such a simple fix!

Room Tip: Top rooms are a lot of stairs 5 flights at least.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nasdecor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We visited the Thomas James hotel just for one night thankfully. When we got into our room we discovered the lighting didn’t work properly and after we looked around discovered thick cobwebs hanging from the beams in the ceiling and what we thought was a white painted surface was actually thick dust. We decided to stay as it was just one night and we were going out anyway. When we went to bed later that night we discovered the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and the room was situated above a noisy pub with loud music which attracted very noisy students till 2am. This would have all been okayish if the price had been significantly lower but we feel it was over priced. When we left we recalled a comment made by the member of staff who checked us in. “Ooh room six! That’s one of the best rooms” omg it’s worrying!!....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mel_and_paul_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This hotel was cheap but not remotely cheerful.
Carpet in room was filthy.
Window in room did not shut.
Beds were lumpy.
Toilet seat about ready to crack. No soap in dispenser
Yick it was not a nice place - we did get a discount but I must advise others to avoid this place

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank judithasullivan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Was expecting basic but clean. Basic - yes. Clean - no. Walls needed a.wash down. Windows filthy. Carpets soiled and worn. Chairs also worn. Didn't touch a thing when we got in. Got a refund and left as soon as we saw our room. So couldn't comment any further than first impressions. Husband still in the doghouse for booking without checking reviews!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Indu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leamington Spa hotels
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
1.3 km away
Falstaff Hotel
Falstaff Hotel
#13 of 16 in Leamington Spa
607 reviews
0.8 km away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#8 of 16 in Leamington Spa
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Episode Hotel
Episode Hotel
#7 of 16 in Leamington Spa
769 reviews
0.6 km away
Travelodge Regent Hotel Leamington Spa
0.6 km away
Victoria Park Lodge
Victoria Park Lodge
#5 of 16 in Leamington Spa
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas James Hotel

Address: 45-47 Bath Street, Leamington Spa CV31 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Leamington Spa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Leamington Spa
Price Range: $72 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thomas James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thomas James Hotel: all rooms en-suite, LCD TV, internet access, telephone, room service available on request, close to train station, Stratford-upon-Avon, Birmingham, NEC, NAC, Warwick, Kenilworth, Coventry Airport. Conference facilities available, free room hire for parties, TJ's Bar & Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Thomas James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing