We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last drink for the evening,”
Review of The Gate House

The Gate House
Ranked #26 of 70 Quick Bites in Doncaster
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: A public house located in the center of Priory Walk, this local town center pub is operated by JD Wetherspoon and is known for its excellent value for money. The Gatehouse has a great selection of Guest Ales and Guest Ciders from local breweries
Reviewed 8 October 2020 via mobile

Last drink for the evening, on way back to the train station and we found a Wetherspoons, thought we’d pop in for a final drink, ordered via the App a Pink gin & lemonade, good price, but presentation of the drink wasn’t, also lots of curled up paper all over the place on windows and walls, would of been better if laminated, apart from the above, the Gate House is your average, every day pub

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Drinkton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

Not far from The other weatherspoons (The Red Lion, where I was staying over night)
1st night of 10pm close so I visited at 18.00 as I thought it would get too many in later, however it was not busy at all, in fact for a friday evening it was empty, so quiet safe I hope. Staff were brilliant and asked regulary if you wanted more drinks bringing to the table, had a good steak and kid Pudd peas and mash with a drink for just over£7.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank robmiles7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2020 via mobile

The Gate House is a okay pub, it’s cheap- it’s also pretty grim.

The actual pub it’s self is pretty dark and gloomy, there’s no natural light and I feel it’s a pretty uncomfortable layout.

The bar staff aren’t particularly clued you on what’s what- so if you order for example a glenmorangie you tend to get a blank stare....

The food isn’t great either and the little condiment basket thing is normally pretty dirty with half filled dirty bottles of sauce.

There’s so so so many better places to visit in a similar price range.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank justalittlevagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2020

Covid review
There's had sanitiser on the way in. there's a form to fill in if you want to. At the bar there are spots on the floor to show you where to queue. i was in the wrong place and one of the staff helpfully pointed me to the right place :-) You queue at the till and order there (or use their app). They prefer contactless but you can still use cash. I couldn't see any other patrons wearing a mask other than myself. There are only screens between tables at the back and that's where i sat. Wifi wasn't working today which is unusual

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CraftBeerDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2020 via mobile

Pub is easy to locate, must admit it is bit hidden away, on Gate House High Street, does have outside seating and plenty of tables inside.
 
In an area teeming with pubs, bars and restaurants The Gate House is an absolutely fantastic Wetherspoon pub, we always visit it when in Doncaster.
 
Visited this Wetherspoons earlier this year, we should have been in Benidorm celebrating St Patricks Day.
 
But due to covid-19 this did not happen, so we went for a day out drinking around Doncaster instead.
 
Sat down, the drinks arrived and not long after this the meals came, we were not disappointed, very quick service.
 
We for some reason prefer the food in here, compared to the Red Lion which isn’t that far away really
 
Used the app to order which was quick, easy and efficient, always advocate this when in Spoons, APP service was quick arriving soon after.
 
Nice place, clean, cheerful staff, good and varied selection of drinks, great value for money. 
 
Never wrote this yet in a spoons review, but yes the toilets are upstairs, a long stair case, but you could always buy a radar key off eBay and use the disabled.
 
I have to say the bar staff are lovely and friendly, very welcoming, we also ended up there on our way back towards the Frenchgate Centre to catch the train home as well.
 
From a fairly light snack to a full on meal Wetherspoons have it all, we all love Spoons pubs, great food and drink deals, with superb locations making them all well worth visiting.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank Travels_Of_Francis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gate House also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Woodlands, Doncaster
 
 

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.