We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,450)
Filter reviews
1,450 results
Traveller rating
926
348
105
45
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
926
348
105
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea classic lodges sandwiches drawing room deluxe room relaxing break lovely hotel breakfast and dinner four poster bed course dinner cream tea the main house a real treat night break log fire both nights short break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,450 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2022

We had a special 2 night deal, including 3 course dinner and breakfast, along with a complimentary bottle of bubbly. The hotel was charming. Comfy sitting rooms and lovely garden to relax. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The shower was great and the views gorgeous. We ate in the restaurant both nights and enjoyed the food (not sure about coffee creme brûlée). The menu was varied, with plenty of choice. Breakfast was very good. I particularly enjoyed the eggs benedict. The staff went out of their way to help and make your stay special

Room tip: Room facing the garden had lovely views
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Batsonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anna Asimakopoulou, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2022

Dear Batsonl

Thank you so much for your comments.
I am delighted to see that you appreciated our team's efforts and you were happy with our product and service.


Warm Regards
Anna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2022

Superb weekend stay! The staff are the friendliest you could find anywhere. Room was excellent, cleaning was done to a high standard, facilities are top notch. The food was excellent, the hot tub was on another level! Beautiful historic place to stay and well worth the money. The health and safety was very detailed around the hotel and you can see how much care and attention is put into the hotel through all the little details. These people really care about their customers. Having travelled and stayed a lot around the cotswolds this has to be one of the best establishments we have stayed in.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gmitch63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anna Asimakopoulou, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2022

Dear gmitch63

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments following your recent stay with us.
It is really lovely to hear how much you enjoyed our facilities and the warm hospitality from our team members.

We all truly look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Anna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2022

an excellent weekend at Charingworth. All staff are very efficient.
We would recommend the hot tub rooms, and they clean the hot tub and room daily.
Food was excellent. Breakfast one of the best we have had. Excellent afternoon tea, but you do have to pre book this in advance.

Room tip: hot tub room
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jmitchell591
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anna Asimakopoulou, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2022

Dear Jmitchell591

Thank you so much for your kind comments.
I am very happy to see that you had a great stay with us.



Warm Regards
Anna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2022

Visited (without having booked) this afternoon, hoping for a cup of tea in the gentle spring sunshine with my sister and Dad.

We explained that it was his 89th birthday today and we had just come from our cousin's funeral.

My Dad had wanted to bring us here as it was the last hotel he stayed at with my Mum, before she passed away 18 months ago.

We explained all of the above and apologised for not booking and that we were only after 3 cups of tea!

We were politely but firmly refused and told we were welcome to walk in the grounds but asked to vacate the table although less than half of the tables in the garden were occupied and staff appeared relaxed and none too busy.

So sad and I think that my Dad was embarrassed for having brought us there.

I'm afraid none of us will be returning.

Date of stay: April 2022
Thank NFJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anna Asimakopoulou, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2022

Dear NFJon

We were sorry to hear about your loss and very saddened to see your comments.

We explained politely at the reception that you will need to pre book for Afternoon Teas and that you were welcome to walk in the grounds.

I am sorry but the garden was full with residents at the time you were there and our colleagues explained to you that the tables were reserved for a family who had a birthday.

I hope you can appreciate that we are unable to give out reserved tables.

I am sorry that your Dad felt embarrassed but we do not feel that we did anything to embarrass anyone, just stated in a courteous manner that we couldn't accommodate you and the reasons why.


Warm Regards

Anna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2022 via mobile

Olly went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable during our stay. I genuinely cannot say enough good things about the staff and service. We had an amazing stay, thank you very much !

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank annasC4109UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anna Asimakopoulou, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2022

Dear annasC4109UT

Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted to read that you had an amazing stay with us.

Warm Regards
Anna
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews