We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish a chips the size of whales!”
Review of Red Lion Inn

Red Lion Inn
Price range: US$53 - US$53
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Gorgeous country pub, great food, great beers (Green King), Chris the owner was very friendly to our party. All round good evening.
No need to book, gorgeous puddings!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BehemothGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017

After spending 4 weeks in Chipping Campden, the Red Lion Pub is certainly one of the places we'll miss most. Great service, good beer selection, tasty food and one of the best beer gardens in town where I was able to enjoy my beers and cigars.

Every bartender I encountered was quite accommodating - friendly and always willing to provide a taste of the beers before you ordered. Celeste was the most outstanding one, however. We arrived on a very busy evening, hoping to get dinner for 5 without a reservation. Other places had turned us away, but somehow she was able to make special arrangements for us in an out of the way room upstairs. It turned out to be the best setting we could have hoped for with a family dinner. Celeste, we'll never forget you.

I must add that the beef and ale pie I had that night was one of the best meals I had during our 4 week stay. Now that I'm back home I am going to try to duplicate it.

To Celeste and others, thank you for the memories!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charley_renfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydy2012, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We stopped into the Red Lion for dinner on our only night in Chipping Campden, and were happy with the service and food we had. We stuck with pub grub favorites: sausage and mash for me, and beef pie for her, washed down with a couple of pints of cider: Thatcher's Gold and Stowford Press. Our food was good, filling, and exactly what we wanted.

After we finished, we walked back through the courtyard to the back bar, where we finished our drinks and listened to the karaoke just starting up. After a few songs (listening and performing) we called it a night.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dunadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracylloyd, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to us and hope to see you again in the future - we have Karaoke every month, so you may want to join in again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We went here for an evening meal and was quite disappointed the staff were not that welcoming and it was average pub food not even great pub food, we wouldn't go back.

Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydy2012, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit. We usually get very good feedback on staff and food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We enjoyed our meal at the red lion inn. It was convenient to us, being across the road from where we were staying. We ate inside, and it has a small dining area with a charming atmosphere. You can also sit outside in the lovely courtyard. Our meals were delicious and serviced promptly and with a happy smile from the young waiter.


Thank cassandra1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydy2012, Owner at Red Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed you meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion Inn also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing