We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$165
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$160
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$173
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$134
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$182
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$222
US$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
US$151
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Princess St. Hotel(Manchester)
US$132
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
354
91
36
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
91
36
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroll top bathveranda suitesister hoteleclectic villaleafy suburbquiet roadeclectic hotelsfree standing bathbreakfast room ismonsoon showerboutique hotellovely boutiquesmall hotelbeautiful hotelfresh milkbreakfast was delicioushome from home
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018

I have refrained from writing a review for reasons of not wanting to upset the Bride and Groom. However things need to be reported. The staff were somewhat offish and unhelpful and the cost of the drinks was a real rip off but my main concern was the food. The meal was a help yourself BBQ. Fine, so expecting high quality BBQ for the occasion of a wedding at this supposeded high class hotel.
The Facts
1.Chicken served up raw. Yes plates were running with blood. It quickly went round the room to avoid it?
2. Thin, cheapest burgers you can buy, tough and hardly edible. served with cheap white rolls
3. No warning of any food containing "nuts". One guest was taken ill and spent the rest of the day in bed.
4. I know of more than one guest, and there could be more, that were extremely ill during the evening.because of the food. As they had not been able to consume much alcohol due to feeling sick ,I can only assume it was the food.
5. For the cost of the room, biggish box, I at least expected the taps to work but the cold tap was just a dribble.
6.Breakfast. Had obviously been sitting there for a while and not refilled as and when require with fresh eggs etc. Bacon, well what can I say? Totally inedible and un-chewable for both of us.
I understand that the family of the couple expressed their concerns but did not wish to taint the bride and groom's recollection of what was supposed to be their perfect day.
And what did the hotel do?
Gave them a night in another of their hotels.
As far as I am concerned environmental health should have been called in.
This hotel was not even contrite and their only concern was to save themselves money.
Disgusting , they should have given them a large refund but did they? NO!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you go for a cheaper room you will have only skylights (in our case)and a small room. Check everything works.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moneyedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at Eleven Didsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

A 5 Star Rating Review for this wedding is posted next but one up from your review by “the family” (as you refer to in your review) praising the wonderful wedding day they had at the hotel titled "Fantastic Stay" 26th May 2018 which readers of TA can see.

We spoke to the bride and her sister who both said they had an equally enjoyable day, sadly your review doesn’t reflect those comments.

Clearly we have spoken on the phone of which we have a record .Below are some facts you confirmed on the phone some of which we consider defamatory and are the subject of further investigation.

For your information.

“Raw”.. in the Oxford dictionary means Uncooked (as you would buy from the butcher.) clearly this is a gross exaggeration on your part.

You confirmed to me during that conversation that no one had food poisoning. No one went to the doctor. No one went to hospital. No one gave samples to any medical facility to confirm any allegation made in your review. Your comments could easily be viewed as spurious (some 5 months after the wedding)

The bride and groom informed the wedding coordinator of all invited guests with food allergies prior to the event of which we have a signed copy. They did not advise us that anyone had a nut allergy. That said our buffet was manned and staff were there to advise any guests who had questions about the ingredients of the dishes served. This complies with the Food Standards Agency guidelines. The guest you mentioned did not question the foods contents until after they consumed the food. Once we were informed that guest did not wish to accept any medical intervention when offered and continued to remain at the hotel and overnight.

This was an exclusive use wedding and the guests attending occupying all the hotel rooms overnight, there were no reports of any illness by any guest to the reception or management either overnight or at departure the next morning.

Andrew Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

As a regular business traveller, I have stayed at Eleven Didsbury Park many times and have always had excellent service, food and accommodation. With good facilities, stunning decor and friendly welcoming staff, I highly recommend the hotel for both business and leisure.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Operations Manager at Eleven Didsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Eleven Didsbury Park.
We enjoy welcoming you back each time, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

we were stuffed into a tiny room that was miserably hot, even tho we had asked for a particular room in which we had stayed previously. asked for a change after one night which they provided. we will not go to this hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yosemite_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at Eleven Didsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear yosemite_9

Thank you for your review, as we are unable to gather more information from your review and unaware of stuffing somebody in a room recently we would be unable to offer much more feedback.

I was pleased to read you returned to Eleven Didsbury Park having obviously enjoyed previous stays despite never offering a balanced reviewed of the hotel on Trip Advisor before, it is therefore a shame to hear because you didn’t like one particular room you wont be returning and rated it 1 star.

Many returning guests have favourite rooms and we always allocate these on booking based on feedback, you say you were in fact moved to a room you had previously enjoyed, a room which would have had exactly the same facilities as your previous room.

Had you given us the opportunity to make notes on your booking you could have continued to enjoy the hotel as you have done previously.


Andrew Hughes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We always try and stay here when we visit Didsbury. Lovely hotel, great atmosphere and staff. Our stays always seem so effortless, it is like being in your own lovely big house with the decor you have always wanted!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hetty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at Eleven Didsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Hetty65

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel we are all pleased you enjoy it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

The hotel is very nicely decorated in a traditional style which makes it look more like a country house than a hotel. There is a lovely garden and a veranda from where you can see the squirrels run around. The bed is comfortable too. Two yummy butter cookies were waiting for me in my room every day.

However I've been disappointed by the quality of service and also that the rooms are not practical. The sink has two (very small) taps, one for cold water and one for hot water without any possibility to mix them. So the only choice you have is either getting burnt or get icy cold hands. The size of the duvet is shorter than the one of the bed so you can't cover your shoulders... There is no choice of pillows. I had dinner at the hotel and waited more than 30 minutes for my dish however the waiter didn't apologize. The bread served for breakfast is not fresh. It was dry on the outside and one hadn't even completely melted...

This is definitely not good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paquerette1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline D, Manager at Eleven Didsbury Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Parquette

Thank you for your recent review and I am very pleased to hear you liked the traditional style of the hotel and our lovely garden. Eleven Didsbury Park is a period property built in 1840 and we chose the taps from a “heritage range” as we feel they are more in keeping with the type of property . Our choice of taps can be clearly seen in the images of our bedrooms on our website but I am sorry if you have not come across something similar before, we always provide plugs in our sinks and baths for comfortable washing and bathing.

We have never before received a comment before about small duvets, we replace our duvets regularly and they are all standard UK sizes to fit our bed sizes. Our pillows are Hungarian goose down and we do have alternatives for any guest with allergies, like yourself many guests comment on how comfortable our Vi Spring mattresses are.

All our meals are prepared freshly to order and a 30 minute wait is slightly longer than we would have hoped for so I apologise for that, I can assure you the chefs are working as hard as possible to get your meal to you as quickly as they can during busy periods. I am sorry you didn’t enjoy the soda bread on the breakfast buffet, we use a local baker for this product and I will be sure to relay your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews