We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,858)
Filter reviews
2,858 results
Traveller rating
1,149
945
439
202
123
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,149
945
439
202
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews corner suite piccadilly station mini bar superior room cooked breakfast an upgrade reception staff comfy bed saturday night city centre lovely room northern quarter stayed for one night canal street yogurt malmasion toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 2,858 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We visited Malmaison today for a couples massage.

We had a drink in the lobby bar before our treatment. The lobby has a good atmosphere, however the bar itself is oddly designed. The bar is surrounded by seats so you can’t actually get to the bar if all the seats are full, and there’s no table service either - go figure.

The spa area is on floor minus 1. The gents changing area is VERY small. You couldn’t fit more than three people in there comfortably. The one and only shower is open to the changing room, so no privacy at all. The hand dryer does not work.

After changing you sit in the “zen area”, if you’re not lucky enough to get a comfy seat you’re stuck with a buffet which are not comfortable. There was no clean glasses for water when we were there, so we went without.

The couples massage room was nice and relaxing, however it was somewhat chilly. It would have been better being a few degrees warmer. The massage itself was lovely and the staff friendly.

We had bubbles and strawberries after the massage in the zen room as part of our package. When we were leaving I was very loudly asked whether I’d paid for our drinks. Whilst I understand they need to check these things they should also check their records before yelling at customers. Had the reception lady checked her records beforehand she would know the drinks were part of the package we booked and paid for several weeks in advance.

Whilst the massage was nice, we won’t return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank james_r_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us following your recent visit. We are disappointed to learn that there are aspects of your visit that let us down and please rest assured these will be communicated to our Department Managers for immediate action. We do sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Love Mal x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Stayed here for one night with work. It's really close to Manchester Piccadilly which is great if you've been on a train for best part of 4 hours, some of it standing.... Anyway the hotel looks lovely when you arrive. Nice bar....more than one person on check-in.....spoilt! All really smooth. Rooms are pretty average though, probably the same size, if not smaller than some more budget type hotels. Room was quite dark, as in furnishing were all dark colours and the carpet was hideous purple and black. The bed was lovely, quality linen, fluffy pillows and duvet. Air con sounded like a Boeing 747 going overhead. Bathroom was ok, nothing special.

Breakfast was fab, it really was. Perfect poached eggs cooked to order, nice pastries and yogurt and NO CRAZY TOASTING MACHINE FROM HELL they actually bring you hot toasted bread. To the table. Brilliant.

Generally, nice hotel, great brekkie, but not blown away.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We will make sure your feedback regarding your stay is shared with all our Teams. We hope to see you again very soon. Love Mal x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had afternoon tea at Manchester Malmaison on Saturday 3rd February.
The selection of food was good but the mini beef burger was cold and the service quite slow.
We decided to have a cocktail at the bar next to the restaurant before we moved on to the Northern Quarter.
Pauline (though she should be called Holly or Molly) was behind the bar and was extremely knowledgeable about the cocktails and advised us in her lovely Geordie accent what to order. The staff all seemed to work very well together and helped each other with their orders. Due to the fantastic staff which also included Ed who certainly knew how to shake a cocktail and Scott we actually ended up staying over 3hrs and had a thoughly enjoyable time trying new drinks and didn’t bother going to other bars as planned.
The staff are certainly an asset to the hotel and we will be returning soon to stay over and have another go at the cocktail list.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Angelajberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We will make sure your feedback regarding your stay is shared with all our Teams. We hope to see you again very soon. Love Mal x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

I spent one night here and having recently stayed at their Brighton hotel I was sorely disappointed - it didn't compare. The foyer was smart and the staff friendly, but the room itself was a let-down. The carpet was old and dirty, the windows were the same plus let noise in. It just wasn't up to standards.

Room Tip: Avoid the road!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We will make sure your feedback regarding your stay is shared with all our Teams. We hope to see you again very soon. Love Mal x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Went here for Sunday lunch with my partner.We both thoroughly enjoyed it.Cold help yourself starter which was very nice.The roast dinner was delicious and staff were very nice and attentive.Would definitely return.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank karenhowcroft18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We will make sure your feedback regarding your stay is shared with all our Teams. We hope to see you again very soon. Love Mal x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews