We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, lovely food and lovely cocktails and lovely staff”
Review of San Carlo

San Carlo
Get food delivered
Ranked #505 of 2,522 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: US$20 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in the hub of Manchester's King Street West, this brand-new concept restaurant is the feather in the cap of the San Carlo group's award-winning chain of Italian restaurants. A departure from the regular San Carlo formula, the dining room boasts an open, light and airy all-white space with red accents, and a stylish bar and lounge area perfect for pre/post dinner drinks. The menu is an lavish celebration of traditional seafood-led Italian cuisine, and favourite dishes include the Scallops San Carlo; Tagliatelle Monte Carlo – pasta served with sautéed shallots and diced monkfish in a creamy tomato and white wine sauce; and the traditional spiced Italian sausages cooked with Borlotti beans.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Had the mushrooms for starters, carbonara for main and caramel crepe for desert, with a bottle of wine and lots of cocktails to follow, all fantastic and will visit again. It was my birthday too and they brought out a piece of cake with a candle and sang happy birthday

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank caracarr96leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Guest Relations Manager at San Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Good Morning,

We are thrilled to see that you joined us to celebrate your birthday. We pride ourselves on our highest standard of customer service and creating memorable experiences for our guests, so we are happy to hear you had an amazing time.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Team San Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (5,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 5,373 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2021

Myself, my Husband and our Son dined here to celebrate his exam results, restaurant was very busy, tables very close together. Food was average, there are definetly better Italians in town and closer to home. Service was ok, not very friendly. The cost wasnt too bad which was a surprise. This is my 4th visit to this restaurant and it was probably the worst one, wont be returning.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nixynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Guest Relations Manager at San Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Good morning

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are terribly sorry that on this occasion we didn't exceed your expectations. We praise our staff for excellent customer service and the genuine care they show to our guests, however, it is clear that on this occasion we did not live up to the service expectations.

Please be assured that this will be addressed with the team who will be working as hard as ever to ensure that on your next visit you will have a wonderful time with us.

We hope that you will consider dining with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Team San Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2021

AVOID THIS PARTICULAR RESTAURANT!!!! PLEASE TAKE NOT OF ALL OF THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS FOR THIS RESTAURANT AS IT IS TRUE!!!

Even though the food is very good the customer service that this restaurant seem to pride themselves on is absolutely shocking.
First of all once I made my booking (three weeks prior to the date of dining) I was called a day before our dining date to pay a deposit of £10 per head, I was not asked for this at the time of the booking so I was totally bewildered as to why I was being asked to pay this now!!
When we arrived at the restaurant we were not greeted by any members of staff as they were too busy looking at the other members of my booking rudely, I don’t think they often have people like us at their restaurant.
We were eventually taken to our table. When we were then seated the waiting staff came over to take our order and advised us to have both our starter and main course to come at the same time as they kitchen was about to close, my issue with this is if your kitchen shuts at 10:30 why would u having dining booking up until 10:30, that just doesn’t make sense!
So then we ordered our food which did arrive at different stages but we were fine with that, however one thing we were not happy with was, the Salt Based Seabass, now this item is prepared at your table, which is fine, however when the waiter started to prepare the fish in front of us he then decided mid way that he would remove his mask and then start talking over it while he was removing the bones from the fish (disgusting and DEFINITELY not COVID safe!!!!).
I have to say that the food was good but the customer service was TERRIBLE!!!
We not reward bad service so we asked for the service charge to be removed from the bill which they were not happy with but what do you expect San Carlo!!
There are plenty of other restaurants to dine in in Manchester at this price so to avoid disappointment and upset please look elsewhere.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lemechia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Guest Relations Manager at San Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Good morning,

We are terribly sorry to read of your experience. This is not what we would hope for our customers at all.
If you would like to discuss this matter further please get in touch with us at GuestRelations@sancarlo.co.uk

Warmest Regards,
Team San Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021

If I could give this place 0/5 I would. Not to sound like an absolute Karen but I wouldn’t bother. Food wasn’t too bad but then your waiting ages for it to show up. And as for the service it’s extremely slow.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 712chloet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Guest Relations Manager at San Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Good morning

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent visit with us.

We are very disappointed to read that your experience was not as pleasant as we hoped it to be. If you would like to discuss this matter further please get in touch with us at GuestRelations@sancarlo.co.uk

Warmest Regards,
Team San Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021 via mobile

I brought my daughter for a girly treat as we were having a night away in Manchester. Had booked a table which wasn’t ready so go asked to sit at the bar. Eventually a staff member came to show us to our table which was in a freezing cold, empty area of the restaurant with a busy service point for staff immediately behind us. A staff member reluctantly reseated us - but only after arguing that everyone had booked in advance that night so we were nothing special and that there were no other tables for two free - despite me pointing out at least 2 other empty tables in another part of the restaurant.
The starters were poor. Underseasoned, chewy calamari with some vinegary, synthetic tartar sauce. The mixed mushrooms were a total rip off - bland, unimaginative and served in an inedible, stale filo shell. The main courses were better but overall, a disappointment. Next to us, a young couple waited so patiently for their meal. We had completely finished ours before their dishes arrived. Food poor. Service arrogant and indifferent.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank hjmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen, Guest Relations Manager at San Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2021

Good morning,

We are terribly sorry to read of your experience. This is not what we would hope for our customers at all.
Please rest assured that your feedback will be swiftly followed up with the team as this is not the San Carlo experience that we want to extend to our guests.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you at our best in the near future.

Team San Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Carlo also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.