We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Perfection”
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Wollerau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Although I stayed there a while ago, this hotel still is - by far - the best hotel experience of my life. In fact, from arrival to departure, everything was perfect. The hotel, centrally located, is a museum and you nearly feel royal by just staying there, and being so close to this many antiques (the hotel was the Home that Napoleon III built for his wife Eugenie). The restaurant of the hotel, although expensive, was to die for and the service there, more than stellar. The pool is very well furnished and the access to the beach, extremely easy. I would go back to Biarritz just to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    167
    81
    32
    12
See reviews for
172
543
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our second stay in this iconic hotel which has the best location in Biarritz and is a most beautiful hotel. The staff are so well trained, professional and very friendly. The common areas are spacious and decorated in the most beautiful antique furniture which you can actually sit on not just admire. The concierge arranged for us to travel to Bilboa to visit the Guggenheim, a private transfer which all went smoothly. There is so much to love about Biarritz and staying in this beautiful hotel. Our ocean view room was gorgeous, understated quality and style. Walking around Biarritz is very easy, the shopping is fantastic, the beach is great but staying in Hotel du Palais is what Biarritz is all about. La Rotonde restaurant is so welcoming and elegant, The Hippodome is a great place for lunch by the pool, the pool is large with plenty of chaise lounges to accommodate guests and each of these places have the most enviable view of the beach and township. I had my haircut while staying in the hotel, the best haircut I have had in years! We travel for the European summer every year so when planning our next trip, we simply have to go back to the Palais, we love it!

Room Tip: 418 is a great room with views in three directions, the main beach, straight out over the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Not many hotels in France offer as much as the Hotel du Palais: directly located on the ocean, a very large pool, an excellent terrasse overlooking the beach and sea, direct access to a great beach, very good restaurants (not only serving good food and offering professional service but set in a decor and with a view of the ocean that is just grand), a first class spa, a very pleasant indoor pool, immaculate grounds with interesting areas for childrens and golfers. The hotel also defines Biarritz. The rooms could be modernized and may not offer all 5 stars amenities but they are very comfortable, clean and have a lot of charm. The rooms still offer a luxurious experience. We were there for a romantic weekend and hope to bring our teens in the future. The hotel du Palais is a wonderful base to explore the Basque country, practice surfing and enjoying the gastronomy of San Sebastian.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Hote du Palais overlooks the Atlantic Ocean at Biarritz SW France. The building is exceptionally elegant and is without exception the most stylish building in the whole of Biarritz with it's outdoor pool, terrace, mini golf course and children's play area. The very best for me was the Spa. This pool is so calm and relaxing and designed to look like one in Ancient Greece. The service was excellent throughout the 3 days I stayed there. Perfect for a special romantic holiday. The meals were best in the restaurant rather than the outdoor Hippocampe situated by the pool. I detest having to inhale smoke from other diners while enjoying a meal and unfortunately Hippocampe allowed the guests to smoke. The bedroom was beautiful, clean, comfortable with a luxurious large bathroom and high quality products by Hermes. I shall definitely return and highly recommend this as one of the very finest luxury hotels in France.

Room Tip: We would have preferred a sea view but accepted a rear room directly above the front entrance althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights here recently and while the public spaces have that Grande Epoch feel, details keep it from being perfect. On arrival we had a an excellent reception, great. We were shown to our room which was on the 5th floor, recently renovated and very cozy. But strangely in a new renovated suite they had no iPod dock or player!? Odd. We had a very nice dinner in their pool restaurant that evening, nice service and good quality we chose it because my husband just didn't feel like a jacket and tie for dinner and the other option is more formal. The other strange thing is that while they have full size Hermes soap and Perfume in the bathroom there is now hair conditioner! In a middle of the road hotel I expect this and bring my own, however in a 5 Star establishment I expect it and save the space in my luggage. When I asked the cleaning staff about this all I received was a very Gallic shrug of dismissal.
The concierge staff are very helpful and seem very busy. We rented bikes which were very nicely delivered to the hotel, points for this! We rode to a nearby town and along the coast which was fun and beautiful. During this time we had to move rooms, down 2 floors to a larger and lesser room in my opinion although the price is quite a bit more. I found the decor tired and a bit dated my husband could not log on to the WiFi. When the Tech came up to the room he did not seem terribly motivated or knowledgeable. My husband ended up sorting it out for him. After our bike ride we were a bit hot and thought we would sit in the sun a bit before dinner. From our room we could see several loungers available. This is where the hotel really drops in our estimation. The pool has Cabanas along the side, these must be reserved in advance and this of course comes with an additional fee......All other chairs are organized around small tables and you can only sit. No chance of reclining here. Seriously? Also getting the attention of the waiters here in the cheap seats is like seeing a unicorn.......For a hotel in this category they SERIOUSLY need to rethink the pool area. Fine you want to charge rich russian oligarchs a lot of money to sit in a cabana fine, but surely they could take some of the area where the current children's playground is and have terraced loungers over there. I was recently at the Beau Rivage in Lausanne and they used this approach to much success and we were happy to be a bit farther from the actual pool to have less noise from the children playing in the pool.
So for dinner we decided to try a local restaurant and the concierge were helpful knowledgeable and prompt. This sort of inconsistency is why i can't rate this hotel 5 stars but also why I at times think they are just average.
For location and architecture they have a unique position and this Hotel is beautiful it just feels as though it has split personality disorder.

Room Tip: Try for a room that has been recently renovated, 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.6 km away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Property: Hotel du Palais
Address: 1 Avenue de L'Imperatrice, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#1 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#2 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#13 Business Hotel in Biarritz
Price range (per night): $580 - $1,378
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Palais 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Hotel
Du Palais Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing