We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arena(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Colbert(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
US$128
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
US$363
US$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel les Goelands(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Helianthal(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
US$207
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Donibane(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Parc Victoria(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
US$409
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$376/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel de la Plage(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
74
114
35
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
114
35
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomroom was cleancharming hotelone way streetcar parkfrom spainplace to stayst jeancentre of townparkingeurosterraceshutters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Historical hotel which is just 5 minutes walk from the pedestrian zone and 15 from the beach. The decor is characterful and charming; our newly painted room was quite spacious and quiet; beds were comfortable, water pressure strong and wifi worked well. There are plenty of outlets, space to set things down on but no tea kettle. There is an elevator; paid street parking right across the hotel. Much of the hotel was recently remodeled and the hotel will be closed a few months this year to complete the remodeling. Not a luxury hotel but is much better than basic.
St. Jean is a lovely town well worth a short stay and the Grand Poste is a good choice for that. I paid slightly less than a hundred euro for our room and thought it a terrific value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank poggibonzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our time in St Jean was at the end of August and beginning of September, so hotel accommodation was expensive. We felt that at EUR149 for the superior room, we got a fair price. The room (and especially the bathroom) was very spacious and well appointed. It is important when you are staying for five nights that you have space for everything and that the bed is really comfortable. So many French hotels have small double beds, but not here. Also the cleaning staff, did a really good job, constantly replenishing towels and toiletries. The decor of the hotel is very 'Basque' and cosy. The location is excellent (and quiet) and they have an special arrangement with Vinci Parking nearby.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night it is a good idea to upgrade to a superior room as the extra space adds up to much more comfort.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubliner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

our room was clean and smallish but adequate except that the lack of air conditioning made it that we had to open the window which then made it that we could hear all the street noise. that coupled with the fact that the curtains are white with no backing material so all the street lighting as well of course as the sun in the morning made for a very poor night sleep, and we were up with the sun and the town rubbish collection truck. we only stayed the one night obviously.
expensive room for the lack of good night sleep.
very pretty but very touristic little town well worth the detour

Room Tip: ask for a room away from street lighting and if it exist with air conditionning
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and were delighted with our room and the staff.
Our room was well fitted, clean and bright with a sparkling bathroom with a roomy shower.
The staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast offered a wide range of fresh food.
The hotel is centrally placed but peaceful and calm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie crowle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

It all depends on your perspective..... Now, personally, I like old furniture and a bit of quirk and character, so I was happy with the admittedly-not-so-Grand Hotel de la Poste. Room was large and clean, breakfasts were good, car park directly beside hotel, pedestrian area of St Jean de Luz started just 50 metres down the street, and the fabulous markets (with the excellent Cafe des Halles) were a couple of hundred yards away. The hotel reception staff were great, and gave us excellent advice on restaurants and tours. There is a comfortable lounge with newspapers and magazines just off the lobby, an excellent spot for members of our small group to meet up and relax.

Room Tip: No lift, so ask for 1st floor if stairs are a problem.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Balisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews