We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in a stylish harbour town ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel de La Poste
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

This lovely old hotel is located in a fairly narrow one way street and dropping off baggage is not easy. Better to drive past the hotel and turn first right into the public car park. From there is access into the back of the hotel. The car park is busy and has a 4 hour limit. The hotel is well appointed and beautifully presented and clean. The staff were charming and helpful. Our room was clean and well appointed and we had a good nights sleep. The hotel is located in the town so expect some early morning traffic noise.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

We loved this hotel. The staff, the building and the location really made it a great place to stay. They also welcome dogs and have a lovely park a few steps up the hill and a Carrefour on the doorstep for pet food and other supplies.

The only slight criticism is that it can be noisy at night depending on your neighbours, but given that it is such an old building this is not a surprise or a real issue.

We had a room facing the street but it wasn't at all noisy and the shutters made it nice and dark at night. Being a little bit away from the commercial / tourist area means it is nice and quiet but still easy to walk to the beach, shops ( and the shopping is great) and the multitude of restaurants and bars. We loved it and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels we stayed at in France. The service was impeccable. The room we stayed in was spacious and very comfortable. After a long day travelling to St Jean de Luz, it was nice to have a cup of tea sent up to the room; individual pots with extra hot water.
Breakfast was a delight with plenty on offer with freshly squeezed orange juice and fantastic coffee.
Thank you for a very comfortable stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I love this chic hotel! Plenty of bars nearby to compensate for no bar at the hotel. Breakfast buffet is gorgeous as are the staff. Not far from the beautiful beach of St Jean du Luz and the fabulous shopping. Would we stay here again? Yes. We love it!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We had an overnight stop here on our journey back from Portugal to U.K. The room was tiny but that was made clear from the start & before I booked. Everything was in the room which we needed, including a decent hairdryer. Very clean, great location, nice staff, very quirky old hotel. A bar would have been nice but not the end of the world.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank blueval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
456 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
#11 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
238 reviews
1.3 km away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#14 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
148 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
620 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de La Poste

Address: 83 Rue Gambetta, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range: $107 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de La Poste 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel de La Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing