We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, lovely building and great breakfast!”
Review of L'Ascott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
L'Ascott Hotel
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed here the night before catching an early ferry back to the UK. The first thing you notice is what a beautiful building it is set behind wrought iron gates that date back to the 18th century. As we have the dog with us they offered us the garden room in the basement. This was more like an apartment and what had probably once been a basement full of garden tools had been transformed into this luxury apartment with room for at least three people to sleep. All of the facilities were excellent and spotlessly clean. Our hosts provided the best breakfast we've had for a long time of fresh croissant's bread homemade jam and cakes. The perfect set up for a day on the ferry.

Room Tip: Our 'Garden Room' was silent. Slept like a log.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

We stayed for one night recently.the hotel owners were very friendly and the service was very good. We had breakfast which was lovely with a few personal touches no buffet. Would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Our room was quite small not sure how big other rooms were but ask for details when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed 2 nights at this charming hotel. We arrived early and our room was not quite ready so we were able to enjoy drinks in the garden. Saint Servan is a lovely quiet location but within walking distance of St Malo centre and the beaches and some fantastic restaurants (great recommendations from the hotel). The room was very pretty and clean & comfortable and the breakfast was amazing, the most delicious breads and cakes, and yoghurts and fruit. Everything was local including bowls of cherries from Helene's parent's garden and homemade rhubarb jam! We were thoroughly looked after and would love to return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rockmount1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Ascott based on the listing in the Michelin guide, and in this case the recommendation was flawless.

You could describe the Ascott as a boutique hotel in a traditional French town house. The decor is immaculate and tasteful, the rooms are spotless - if a little on the bijou side - and, most significantly, the staff are completely charming and warm. Nothing was too much trouble for the young man and lady who greeted us and advised us on the area.

The Divine (€100) room's bathroom was a little on the small side, but the Fontainebleau (€139) on the top floor was a little more spacious. The organic breakfast (€10pp supplement) was simple but delicious - we were offered it to be served in our room, the restaurant or garden.

The WiFi was a little unreliable, but I've found that to be the case in a few hotels in France, so it's not really a criticism of the Ascott hotel.

We found the streets around Saint-Servan to be full of interesting architectural detail, colourful gardens and interesting shops to stroll in and out of - not at all touristic, and the people were very friendly.

We will return again for sure!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank macabstract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed only one night but it was wonderful. The staff is very friendly and they are doing they utmost to make your stay a remarkable one. They advised us a nice restaurant and reserved a table for us. Great!!! We can definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Claudia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
2.6 km away
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ambassadeurs Hotel
#15 of 82 in Saint-Malo
594 reviews
3.7 km away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#5 of 82 in Saint-Malo
743 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Beaufort
Hotel Beaufort
#36 of 82 in Saint-Malo
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Des Abers
Hotel Des Abers
#3 of 82 in Saint-Malo
184 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Les Charmettes
Hotel Les Charmettes
#11 of 82 in Saint-Malo
211 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ascott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ascott Hotel

Address: 35 rue du Chapitre | Saint Servan, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Malo
#17 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range: $106 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Ascott Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the chic residential district of Saint Servan, the Ascott is open all year. Blend of tradition and modernity, its rooms (13 to 20m²), cosi and elegant, are equipped with Wi-Fi and flat-screen TV.The Ascott is close to the beaches (500 meters), as well as many museums and monuments of the history of Saint Malo. Welcome, and enjoy the bar for customers, either in the garden or in the lounge ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Ascott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Ascott Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing