We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merci, Olivier!”
Review of Hotel Colbert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colbert
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2017

You will have many good memories of Tours after staying here, but your best memory will undoubtedly be your acquaintance with Olivier, the young man who greeted us at the reception desk when we arrived and who looked after us during our three-night stay. He is charming, witty, and outgoing, and he made us feel welcome whenever we saw him. Olivier also served breakfast to us each morning, arriving at the table to take drink orders and offering a tray of various cheeses, butters, jams, and yogurts, from which you selected whatever you wished. Each guest also received a wicker basket with a large fresh tartine as well as a flaky croissant. Olivier always checked back to see if we needed more coffee or anything else. It was a filling breakfast in a cheerful breakfast room where some of Olivier’s musical instruments, including a piano, are on display. (He is a jazz musician in addition to being an outstanding hotel proprietor.) He has an excellent command of English as well, and we enjoyed conversing with him about his music, his dogs (two King Charles spaniels), and his recommendations for places to eat.

We had reserved a room facing the inner courtyard, and it provided fresh air and a quiet atmosphere at night. The second-floor room (#11) was spacious and had a comfortable bed, a desk, an upholstered chair, and a modern bathroom with a convenient walk-in shower (no curtain or glass doors to fuss with). The room and its furnishings were very clean and well-maintained, and our room was serviced every day.

The hotel’s location is ideal: a walk of less than ten minutes from the train station, a short walk to the Place Plumereau, and just a few blocks away from the cathedral and the Musée des Beaux-Arts. The Rue Colbert seemed busy both day and night, and we always felt safe as we walked around. The street is lined with many good restaurants, one of which (Le Petit Patrimoine) is virtually next door to the hotel and served beautiful, affordable meals in a very friendly atmosphere. The reception desk at the Hotel Colbert is not open at all hours, but Olivier provided a security code for the front-door keypad which enabled us to come and go as we wished at night.

We used Tours mainly as our base from which to make day trips to the Château de Langeais and to the Château de Chenonceau, both of which were easily accessible by train, but we discovered many interesting things to see and do in the town. If you happen to be in Tours on a weekend, don’t miss the Saturday open-air market which spills out onto the streets on the Place des Halles and the Place Gaston Paillhou. Right beside the open market, which appeared to be the domain of local farmers, is a large enclosed pavilion called Les Halles de Tours, containing dozens of permanent vendors selling the most marvelous meats, cheeses, breads, and vegetables. This huge market is open every day and well worth a look. You can also purchase a variety of items to put together a very satisfying, inexpensive, gourmet-quality lunch that you can enjoy on a bench outside.

If you’re visiting Tours, the Hotel Colbert should be your first choice for lodging. We thank Olivier for being so attentive and kind to us during our stay.

Room Tip: When booking online, choose a room facing the interior courtyard if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BookDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

We searched for long a hotel that was charming and could accept a family of 5. Hotel Colbert is in the city center on a pedestrian street. We had 2 rooms next to each other, View with a lovely garden . They are plenty of car parking places around. The owner was very welcoming and made us feel at home. We will come back!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I researched all the hotels in Tours, and glad I chose Hotel Colbert. The owner was very welcoming, helpful and was always available. I stayed several days and enjoyed it so much I returned the following 2 weekends. The rooms are clean, well laid out and have all the necessities. I looked forward to the breakfast each day which was beautifully presented and included a baguette, croissant, confiture, yogurt, many types of juices, coffee, tea etc. The location is perfect with lots of restaurants, bars, and shops and just a couple minutes walk to the Loire River. Buses and trams are just minutes away. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelkjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Hotel Colbert lives up to it's reviews. The owner, Olivier, has created a warm and welcoming hotel in a vibrant part of town. It is beautifully decorated and well maintained. He is incredibly charming, and mornings we were greeted by his two King Charles Cavaliers. We needed recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing, which he was quick to provide and were superb. I would recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Tours.

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the back as you will not be subject to the nighttime revelers on Rue Colbert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rlk814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Olivier, the manager, made sure our stay was as pleasant as possible. The room was large (as was the shower!) and very comfortable. Space is a bit limited for putting clothes away, and the breakfast was plentiful but relatively simple.

An excellent impression overall, ideal for couples (but business travelers will be absolutely fine too), excellent value for money.

Would definitely call again!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tours hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel L'Univers Tours
0.1 km away
Hotel Ronsard
Hotel Ronsard
#6 of 88 in Tours
397 reviews
1.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Chateau Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Best Western Plus L'Artist Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#9 of 88 in Tours
355 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colbert

Address: 78 rue Colbert, 37000, Tours, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Tours
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tours
#1 Business Hotel in Tours
Price Range: S$102 - S$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Colbert 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Colbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colbert Hotel Tours

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing