We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Left Bank Saint Germain
Ranked #137 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and have never had a problem. The location is incredible. i love small, boutique hotels with plenty of character. The hotel helped me arrange transportation to and from the airport and they were prompt and right on time. they also made reservations on the Bauteaux Mouche with a GREAT table. Both of these were accomplished via email with a great deal of ease and professionalism.

While in Paris this time, my partner contracted a 24 hour bug (I got it when we returned). With limited French on my part they were able to help me locate a drug store and a grocery store conveniently located to the hotel. They also asked about his health throughout the day.

This hotel will always be where I stay whenever I am in Paris - this was our 5th trip to Paris and third stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with great views of the towers of Notre Dame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 466 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We fell in love with the city, area, hotel and again with each other. Hotel and room was exactly as described. Clean, quaint boutique type hotel. Staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating. We ate breakfast once. Typical French fare, which we loved! Don't expect biscuits and gravy The cheese, bread, pastries, etc delightful. The area is wonderful! Shops, bistros, galleries, street entertainment and the aromas from the open market, bakeries, etc was intoxicating. We would absolutely stay again and in fact we plan on it!

Room Tip: Get a street side room if you can; open the window and enjoy the night breeze and sounds as you fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Perfect location in the 6th Arrondissement (which is by far the BEST area of Paris to stay in). Hotel was very nice, we didn't get the hotel breakfast, in the lobby however we did get it in the room and was very typical and good. Value for the hotel was great. Staff was very friendly. Hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the road side, we had one there and it was a bit noisy with the windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mshayda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed in the Best Western Left Bank last week with my family of 4, my sister's family of 4 and my parents. The rooms gave us plenty of room and the added bonus of separate beds for each kid! While storage for clothes was a little limited, it was not a problem.

We found the bathrooms to be very new and great showers with good pressure and hot water at all times. This was a pleasant surprise!

The added bonus of breakfast was great. There were all kinds of breads/croissants, yogurts, eggs and meats. You could also order scramble or fried eggs to order. Being a group of 10, this was a huge savings every day.

The hotel location was very convenient both for walking and the subway. I highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were a family of four with two young children (under age 10). Anyone who has traveled to Paris knows that it is difficult to find a decent-sized room by USA standards without breaking the bank. The Best Western Left Bank is a nice answer to that problem.

The location is fantastic -- right in the heart of St. Germain, very close to the Odeon Metro stop, and within a reasonably short walking distance of Notre Dame and the Louvre.

We booked a room for 4, and got a queen-sized bed + a twin + another twin that pulled out from under the queen. We were a bit cramped (to be expected), but still had room to move around a bit. The room would be too small if our kids were teenagers.

The beds were comfortable enough -- both the twin and pullout were a LOT more comfortable than a typical hotel hide-a-bed or portable cot. The bathroom was quite large -- almost palatial by European standards.

Our room was the only one on the first floor. At first I was worried that foot traffic from the staircase and for the dining room next door would be loud, but surprisingly that was not the case.

The price was quite reasonable, and FAR more affordable than booking a suite or two adjoining rooms, which was the alternative for most other hotels in the area. Price also included a decent Continental breakfast, which made for a GREAT value for a family of four. Front desk service was pleasant and helpful (although our experience was limited).

Drawbacks? There is only one window in the room, and that was to a window-well. The room, and the hotel in general, look like they have not been updated for a while. Decor is nothing special.

But if you don't need posh accommodations, this hotel is an excellent value for a traveling family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChiBoyinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#127 of 1,802 in Paris
1,705 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#19 of 1,802 in Paris
472 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#95 of 1,802 in Paris
2,030 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Left Bank Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Left Bank Saint Germain

Address: 9 rue de l Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Left Bank - St Germain)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#174 Family Hotel in Paris
#199 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#318 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $214 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Left Bank Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Left Bank Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Left Bank - St Germain Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing