We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit home in the first strike - Good Hotel, Great Location, Complete Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Left Bank Saint Germain
Ranked #141 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I stayed here with my partner for 4 days in July 2008 and have to say, we struck gold on our first visit to Paris!! Having heard of varying recounts of dingy hotels, miniscule bathrooms in all european hotels, we were pleaseantly surprised and happy with our choice in Paris. The hotel is quaint in its looks and furnishings being very edwardian but is complete and utter value for money. The rooms are miniature doll houses in their furniture and welcome furnishings. Decent sized bathrooms, great service - we got a room change as our room's a/c was'nt working - great breakfast. The Hotel location is the crowning glory - it is 5-7 min walk from Louvre, station and all the central sites. A must stay for all planning a trip to paris!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 648 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2009

I loved this hotel. You couldn't ask for a better location. The staff was helpful and a yummy breakfast bar is included. Hopefully I will return to Paris and if I do I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drnevahodgkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Convenience location, charming room with lots of storage and modern bathroom. Breakfast was very good, however the room is very small and if you are not there early you will end up waiting for a table. Free internet access in lobby. Metro stop is about a block away and if you are taking the Eurostar it is a direct line from/to the hotel stop.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurolady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This Best Western has apparently lost its "Premier" status, although I'm not sure why it ever would have had that appellation. We reserved a room that was not the smallest that the hotel had to offer, but was nonetheless, pretty small. The bathroom was clean and modern and the closet space adequate. All in all, for as close in as the hotel is, and for the price (roughly 145 Euro/night), I had no serious reservations about the hotel. The a/c was a bit of a problem, in that it did not cool the room sufficiently during daylight hours in late August. But then, the small room was primarily a sleeping space.

The continental breakfast was limited, but adequate. Anyone expecting something even remotely approaching an American breakfast would be disappointed. There were no hot items available, simply two kinds of lunchmeat, two types of cheese, some hard boiled eggs and toast. I was disappointed that no pastries were included - it was Paris, after all - but the basket of breads brought to the table did have a good variety, including one croissant each morning with what appeared to be chocolate chips.

The staff of the hotel was efficient and helpful. Overall, this hotel is a good place to stay for convenience and price, if one is not wed to having a large room and spacious public area.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cayman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My wife and two year old daugther and I just returned from a quick 5 day/ 4 night stay in Paris that was memorable in large part because of the BW Left Bank. As has been oft repeated in the reviews here the location is superb. You're in the heart of St. Germain, just south of the Quartier Latin, and a pleasant walk from Ile de la Cite and even the Louvre. When it came to dining we never had to venture very far. Our days began with the very generous and statisfying included breakfast at the hotel. Our days ended with meals at the many different restaurants in the immediate area. On the hotel side of Boulevard St. Germain, just up the road from the hotel we ate at Alcazar which was an excellent Parisian brasserie with a modern touch and also at Le Procope, also a brasserie but more traditional in style, which is literally next to the hotel. On the other side of the Boulevard we ate at Les Editeurs and the Horse's Tavern. Of the four I'd have to say that the best was Les Editeurs. We also wanted to try Le Comptoir across from Les Editeurs but it's a veritable dining hot spot with local folks lined up out the door waiting for one of the restaurants few tables every night we were there. I suspect it would have claimed top spot had we been able to partake. There's an excellent boulangerie across from the hotel and Carrefour market just up the road and around the corner where we could stock up on water, juice, fruits, cheese and pretty much everything else. It was a great place to put together picnic lunches that we enjoyed in the Luxembourg and Tuileries gardens. The Odeon metro stop is a super short walk away and can take you East-West on the 10 (which is a direct line to the Tour Eiffel) and North-South on the 4 which can bring you directly and quickly to Montparnasee or Chatelet/Les Halles from which you can easily connect to virtually all of Paris. From the two metro lines you can directly reach three of Paris' large train stations: Gare du Nord (which goes to the main Roissy airport), Gare de l'Est and Gare d'Austerlitz. Taking all that in to consideration the location of the hotel is superb. The staff were very cordial and the rooms were traditionally appointed. We had a standard Rue de l'Ancienne facing room and as has been said here, the lively evening street sound was never a noise problem. The bathroom was standard size. Space wise mentally prepare for smaller European living dimensions relative to North American hotels. As much as I try to do so, I seem to always be a little taken aback at the living space adjustment. Still, all in all a highly reccomended hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoCalMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#132 of 1,805 in Paris
1,754 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#199 of 1,805 in Paris
896 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#23 of 1,805 in Paris
530 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#53 of 1,805 in Paris
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Left Bank Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Left Bank Saint Germain

Address: 9 rue de l Ancienne Comedie, 75006 Paris, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Left Bank - St Germain)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Paris
#199 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#318 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $205 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Left Bank Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Left Bank Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Left Bank - St Germain Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing