We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay At The Washington Opera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera
Ranked #932 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My partner and I recently enjoyed 6 nights at The Washington Opera Hotel, in Paris. The hotel is a shining example of the perfect "boutique hotel," in a very metropolitan city. Every single staff member we encountered was kind, courteous, and helpful; really going out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.

Our room was a the perfect size for two, nicely decorated with very comfortable furnishings. All of the bath amenities were of very high quality, and were replenished as needed, or on request. A fully stocked mini bar was hidden in a cabinet next to the desk, and any items consumed were replaced the following day. Housekeeping was perfect and our room was in "like new" condition when we returned every afternoon. The public spaces of the hotel were in excellent condition, clean and very well maintained.

An ample continental breakfast is served every morning consisting of: a basket of assorted pastries & rolls, butter, a selection of jams, jelly, and honey, sliced ham, salami, and cheese, plain yoghurt, orange juice, coffee, and tea. Service was fast, efficient, and came with a smile.

The hotels location is perfect, with many tourist sites within walking distance, and others just a short cab/metro ride away. There is an abundance of restaurants, cafes, bars, and shops in the immediate vicinity with price ranges to satisfy budget travelers, and those wanting to splurge as well! Two small, but very well stocked markets are about 50 feet away which are open from early morning until about 2AM.

We absolutely loved the Washington Opera Hotel, and will wholeheartedly recommend it to any friends or family who plan on visiting Paris in the future. I'm happy to answer any questions, just click on the link below.

Room Tip: The most quiet rooms are at the rear of the hotel, where there is little street noise. Room 402 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is very nice located and reasonably priced for being in Paris it is 5 minutes walking to the river and 15 minutes to the Rue de Montmare which is fill with nice bistros and many pubs. The croissants and the coffee at breakfast were good everything else was an after thought.

The rooms and the bathroom are very small but the bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Washington Opera Hotel in July 2013. I did not choose this hotel, but was off loaded here by chance when the hotel I booked was overbooked and placed me in this hotel by chance.
The hotel is clean and nice but only delivers a 2.5 - 3 star quality.

My daughter (12 years) and myself had spent 5 weeks travelling around Europe staying in many hotels of varying star ratings and styles, so feel well qualified to provide this information.

The hotel room is small, the decor dated and the bathrooms basic. The price was approx 210 euro per night. When I complained about the facilities provided did not match the star rating claimed, I was provided a lame excuse that this was a Boutique Hotel and this should be expected in Paris.
I advised that this was a poor excuse for failure to deliver decent accommodation appropriate with the star rating.
If you are looking for 2.5 star standard at a 4 star price, this is a great hotel. Based on my travels around Europe, the room should be charged at 120 euro per night and this would make the property a reasonable priced hotel in a good location.
I hope this blog either encourages the hotel to get real with its clients and provide genuine value for money, or save someone else the disappointment I had staying here.
Glenn & Bella Australia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hotel! The rooms were small but that is expected in Paris. This hotel was literally a few steps from the Louvre, with a few cafes and a convenience store on the same street. Breakfast was so yummy. The design and overall ambience was just lovely and very Parisian. The place holds a boy of history too... It used to be the residence of a very famous courtier.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ctinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff, room on the small side but very comfortable. Five minutes walking distance to the Louvre, good area for reasonable priced restaurants. Very quiet at night no traffic noise. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne582013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
Hotel Louvre Richelieu
#1,171 of 1,805 in Paris
62 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Golden Tulip Opera De Noailles
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#152 of 1,805 in Paris
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#164 of 1,805 in Paris
251 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Victoires Opera Hotel
Victoires Opera Hotel
#1,182 of 1,805 in Paris
300 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Drawing Hotel
Drawing Hotel
#450 of 1,805 in Paris
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera

Address: 50 rue de Richelieu, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#434 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $247 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel housed in a building dating from 1760 with Louis XV-style facade - Rooms furnished in traditional decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Hotel Washington Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Hotel Paris
Golden Tulip Paris
Paris Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Washington Opera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing