We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff”
Review of Bel Ami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bel Ami Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed two nights here on the 4th or 5th floor and found the rooms not spacious but adequate, and quiet at night. Breakfast was great. Free computers in the lobby were helpful. The main negative for us was the steep cost; the main positive was the staff. They were so helpful, never snobbish, always friendly. We appreciated them very much!

Room Tip: There is a construction project across the street right now from the hotel. I don't know if ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 717 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

Well, perhaps you'd like a bigger room. In Paris. Wouldn't we all? But that would cost a lot and really, you're in Paris, so how much time are you spending in your hotel room -- awake? Me, I was awake for about 45 minutes -- er, in the hotel room. For that much time, I will gladly sleep in a very comfortable bed in a quiet room (and I am such a pick about this), and not be terribly bothered about the piles of clothes, etc. I have to walk around to get to the bathroom. Not a big deal. Its Paris, remember?

Then, on to a very nice hotel breakfast. Truth be told, I have never had a bad hotel breakfast in France, but this one covers many bases for eaters -- fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, eggs, meats, coffee, juice -- much more than your basic meal. I had this fantasy of losing weight in Paris while walking a bunch and seeing all the smoking toothpicks... oh well. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day -- and that was my SAT exam prep talk. So there.

Location-wise, this hotel is perfect. I felt like I could walk out the door and go comfortably in either direction -- preferably toward Laduree... but truly, the location is perfect for someone wanting to feel not so immersed as a tourist, yet comfortable.

Eight years ago, my husband and daughter (then a bit of 11 years old) spent a few days in Paris and stayed here. Eight years later, we enjoyed a long weekend here. So, it is memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drisSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

In St Germain, blocks from the Louvre, close to Metro. In the heart of small quaint shops and restaurants. The concierge staff is AMAZING here. They got us museum tickets, made restaurant recommendations, knew us by name. The room service was impeccable, they never missed a cleaning or turndown service. An in-house co-ed dry sauna in the basement was welcome after chilly Paris days. Nice workout facility. Hotel lobby is beautiful, rooms are modern, updated but warm and friendly. We loved this hotel!!! We stay in hotels over 300 nights a year, this one is definitely worth a repeat visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Bel Ami and for the first time, I feel inclined to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

The Pro's
No-one can fault the fantastic location of this hotel, right in the heart of Saint Germain.
Reception and Concierge staff were all excellent - friendly and very helpful.
The Con's
We had booked a package and were given a room on the first floor. The room was on the small side, but that's to be expected in Paris. However the window was so narrow that the room was really dark - we needed the lights on all the time. Also we were immediately facing the major renovations on the building opposite - so I can tell you that French builders arrive at 7.30am!
The housekeeping was poor. I had to ask for toiletries to be replaced when empty, and the box of cotton buds, shower cap, etc was not replaced at all. Presumably you're only allowed 1 for 5 days! We used the drinking glasses on the first day, and although I kept putting them in a prominent position, they were just replaced on the tray dirty! We had a turndown service on the first night, but never again.
The quality of breakfast items was good, but the choice was fairly limited.
Steer clear of the mini-bar - a Coke was 8 Euros

Having looked at other reviews of this hotel, I can only assume that the rooms vary enormously as ours was very disappointing. In my opinion, these basic rooms are very over-priced.

I would have rated this hotel much lower if it had not been for the superb location and excellent staff. It was such a shame that the room/housekeeping did not match that standard.

Room Tip: Avoid room 123!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBelAmi, Directeur général at Bel Ami Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for staying at the Bel Ami and for taking time to write a comment about your stay.

We are sorry that you weren't totally satisfied and we would like to appology because amenities should have been refilled during your stay.

We really hope to welcome you back again and be sure that such a thing won't happen again.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

There is nothing worse than arriving at a hotel with your suitcases and excitement around sightseeing, wandering, or conducting business in a new place...and then discovering you have to return to sleep in a place you are uncomfortable in. THAT WILL NEVER HAPPEN HERE. Bel-Ami is in a great location, near bistros, shopping, Metro, sights, etc. Inside, it is a warm comfortable respite. Rooms are not huge, but more than adequate. Well designed and comfortable. Helpful staff. Have no doubt this will be a place you return to and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elbow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#52 of 1,805 in Paris
745 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#305 of 1,805 in Paris
289 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#80 of 1,805 in Paris
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#25 of 1,805 in Paris
822 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#186 of 1,805 in Paris
946 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#140 of 1,805 in Paris
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Ami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Ami Hotel

Address: 7 rue Saint Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Paris
#39 Spa Hotel in Paris
#126 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#194 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#214 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $378 - $832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bel Ami Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Ami, member of Design Hotels, ideally located between the Café de Flore and Deux Magots. Its heart beats in rhythm with Saint Germain des Prés. Rooms and Suites casual chic, Spa Esthederm and trendy bar. You will recognize the spirit of a large parisian apartment that belong to a design and art lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Ami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Ami Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing