We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, pricey but a great option for the area”
Review of Bel Ami Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bel Ami Hotel
Ranked #173 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

St Germain des Pres is chock full of hotels of every type, romantic, baroque, super-luxe and this place. Euro chic on a designer scale in the public areas and tiny in the rooms - it's Paris after all. It's chasing the Mallorca set, lots of casual expensive designer details, Macs everywhere, artful lighting, large sofas and a whiff of Ralph Lauren with its etched glass doors and taupe recliners in all the public areas. I love it but it's not very Rive Gauche, if you want a less euro-trendy atmosphere stay away, if you like a clientele all dressed in Prada and ultra smooth service from the reception and and the adorable concierge staff this is your place.

On the downside the rooms are a bit pokey. Perfectly ok but for 400 Euros a night you hope for a few more square metres. The bathrooms are a bit underwhelming too they feel a little bit Ikea rather than Dolce & Gabbana. Nevertheless I'll be back, it's a perfect location and the staff are very obliging, they can get you into almost any restaurant with short notice, and they cannot do enough for you - except mend the heating which was bust in my room on the night I was there. They tried hard but it wasn't to be. It didn't spoil the stay and they did everything they could to fix it including offer to move me to another room. A good option for this area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boywithkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 659 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2012

This hotel is in a great location. So many great bars, cafes, shops and all in less than a few minutes walk. The staff here are friendly and the hotel is swish and the room and bed very comfortable. What tainted it ever so slightly is the pirce of a cup of tea. Mercifully we only ordered the one cup. It came to 7 Euros plus 3 Euros "tax". That's almost 8 quid for a cuppa. Why does this hotel management feel the need to have such a vast price on something so simple and inexpensive? And it came without any milk.... Sacre Bleu! One more note for improvement... Lilys in the reception look really nice. But the aroma is eye watering. Wll happily stay here again. Especially as it is just around the corner from Les Pre Aux Clercs bar/cafe.

Room Tip: Higher up you go, the better the view. Room 407 has fab views of the church square and side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank major_rawls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Similar to other reviewers, I give Bel Ami great marks for decor, staff attentiveness and service. The free WiFi is so nice. My one negative is the room was very small, even for Paris and the bathroom which was also very small (no way two people could share the space at the same time) had only a very small glass shelf for your toiletries; no shelves, drawers or other. We had to keep everything in the room as there wasn't space to store and move. Between the end of the bed and the wall was probably less than 12", so just walking from one side of the bed to the other was tight.

We had a deluxe room and spent two nights. We love St. Germaine for the shops, restaurants and ambience. If I stayed here again I'd ask about a larger room.

Room Tip: Ask for room sizes when you book in case there is a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveltoujours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Quite honestly, this is a very comfortable hotel. It is clean, it is centrally located to superb shopping and dining, and the rooms are very quiet. The rooms are average sized. All the hotel services are top notch. I was also impressed with the overall cleanliness of the hotel. My stay was for 10 nights, and the Bel-Ami will be my hotel of choice on my next visit to Paris!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank mascara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Concierge was great and hotel was very clean. We stayed in room 426, let me just say the bed in this hotel was the best we had on our whole European trip. With that being said, the bathroom was just "okay"! The main floor was super flashy and modern. Location was great, very close to the metro. The hotel offered a gym and it was good as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Montalembert
Hotel Montalembert
#50 of 1,809 in Paris
753 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#239 of 1,809 in Paris
296 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#139 of 1,809 in Paris
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Pont Royal
Hotel Pont Royal
#175 of 1,809 in Paris
954 reviews
Opéra / Bourse
Hotel De Nell
Hotel De Nell
#107 of 1,809 in Paris
695 reviews
Odéon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#48 of 1,809 in Paris
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bel Ami Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel Ami Hotel

Address: 7 Rue Saint Benoit | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Paris
#40 Spa Hotel in Paris
#125 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#194 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#214 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: S$402 - S$824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bel Ami Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Ami, member of Design Hotels, ideally located between the Café de Flore and Deux Magots. Its heart beats in rhythm with Saint Germain des Prés. Rooms and Suites casual chic, Spa Esthederm and trendy bar. You will recognize the spirit of a large parisian apartment that belong to a design and art lover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bel Ami Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Ami Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing