We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and as good as before”
Review of Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Welcome Hotel
Ranked #357 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Just quietly - I love this little boutique hotel in the heart of Paris's arts district.

I first found it several years ago when another nearby hotel I had booked on-line for a stay in the middle of summer holidays reneged on the booking. The Manager at Welcome was able to get us a room.

This time we went straight back.

Its not a big hotel, in fact everything about it is small from the front lobby, to the little lift that takes you upstairs to the rather small rooms.

But this is Paris, and if you want to experience something other than the cookie cutter international chain hotels and you want to walk straight out the front door and into the heart of Paris street life just a couple of minutes walk from many of the top tourist hotspots and the banks of the Seine River then you want to try the Welcome Hotel.

The hotel does serve breakfast but we preferred to try a different place out on the street each day for our various meals.

Quirky, quaint - I definitely recommend it. Perhaps not for the more elderly - but everyone else with a desire to enjoy Parisian character.

English spoken fluently without it being an issue will also suit many travelers!

Room Tip: This hotel would not suit anyone with access issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank liquidseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking time sharing your experience on Booking.com. The entire team is delighted to have met your expectations during your stay. Indeed, our hotel enjoys an exceptional location in the heart of Paris and Saint Germain des Prés district. It is so easy to reach the major points of interest of Paris such as the Seine, the Ile de la Cité, the Saint Louis island, the Louvre museum etc.

We would be delighted to welcome you for a 3rd time, during a future stay in Paris.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 65 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

This small hotel is in the most 'happening' area of Paris. In a lively, noisy, fun neighbourhood. The room was certainly small, but adequate. Has all you need. Tiny lobby, quirky stairs. So well located. Friendly staff. Walking distance to many must-see Paris sights. And close to high-end shopping. I wouldn't stay in any other arrondissment.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPJmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear MPJmom,

Thank you very much for posting a review about Welcome Hotel.

It is a real pleasure for our team to read your enthusiasm after your stay in Saint-Germain-des-Prés. We totally agree with you, the area is the best choice of location. It is central (few minutes walk to Orsay or Louvre Museum, Pantheon or Notre Dame Cathedral), with many good restaurants and cafés, libraries, galleries... You always have something to do or to see in Saint-Germain-des-Prés. And every street reminds us history, Simone de Beauvoir, Jean-Paul Sartre, Henry IV...

We do hope that you had a nice trip back home and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

First & foremost, we loved the staff at the front desk--so friendly & helpful! We got great advice for where to eat & for getting to the train station, & all in excellent English. It was brutally hot when we arrived, so we were grateful for the well-functioning air conditioning. There's a baggage holding area for early arrivers, like us, who had about 5 hours to wait till checkin. Fortunately there are numerous cafes & restaurants nearby, so it's easy to find someplace to hang out. That's another big plus, the location--it's walking distance to the Seine, the Latin Quarter, markets, etc. Our room was very small--two twin beds pushed together, with small tables on each side, just enough room to squeeze around a desk & an armoire to get to the bathroom, also small. The elevator is also small, so we had to go up separately with our bags. The rooms were totally clean, & the beds were very comfortable. The shower was small, with only a half door, so you have to be careful to avoid getting water everywhere. Nice bath products. You can purchase breakfast in room or at a terrace table outside, but we never did. We found the Welcome Hotel exactly that--welcoming & a really good deal for such a great location. Small, but nice. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LW_JD_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear LW_JD_NC,

Thank you very much for choosing Welcome Hotel.

Our staff had a large smile after reading your beautiful review. As many old Parisian buildings, Welcome Hotel has small rooms and bathrooms. And the size of our lift is now famous! :) We totally understand that you are not used to that and we apologize for the trouble it caused you.

Bath products are new, we changed this month and we are glad to have your feedback. it is the best way to understand the expectations of our guests and to make changes or not.

Saint-Germain-des-Prés is a good choice for a Parisian stay because it is walking distance to many touristic places (Notre Dame Cathedral, Louvre Museum, Luxembourg Garden...), and the atmosphere is very special.

It will be a pleasure for our team to welcome you back soon and we wish you a beautiful Summer.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Quaint little hotel in a great location. It's not fancy but it has everything you'll need. Overall, it's a small hotel with small rooms but that didn't matter to us because it was clean, had AC, and the bed was comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the location and the value. I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MarjanJackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear MarjanJackman,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers.

Our staff have been pleased to read that you had a nice stay with us in Saint-Germain-des-Prés. Welcome Hotel is one of the few 2 star hotel in the area, and as the 6th arrondissement is very attractive, it is a great value. You can live a true Parisian experience in the deep heart of the city, with cafés, brasseries, small shops and museums all around the hotel...

We do hope that you will be back soon for a new visit of Paris.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Welcome Hotel. We knew we wanted to stay in St. Germain, and the Welcome Hotel was well located with easy access to RER line to/from CDG and multiple metro lines.

On a tight budget, but wanting to stay in that particular neighborhood, we weighed the Welcome Hotel against similar hotels and AirBNB. Ultimately, we settled on the Welcome Hotel, whose accommodations were appropriate for the price. It was especially important for us to have a place to stash our bags on our first day prior to published check-in time (we arrived at CDG around 0700 and wanted to be able to start touring right away). The Hotel very nicely accommodated us, giving us a suitable place to lock up our bags and a small bathroom to freshen up before hitting the streets!

Next time we go to Paris, we'll probably try a new neighborhood as St. Germain is getting a bit on the touristy side, but it was a wonderful visit nonetheless.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Dear Christopher B,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

Our staff have been pleased to read that you had a nice experience with us in Paris. Saint-Germain-des-Prés is one of the most attractive area of the city and many tourists come and visit the area. It is central, with metro, bus and RER lines everywhere, and if you like walking, you can easily access to the main touristic places (Luxembourg Garden, Notre Dame Cathedral, Louvre Museum...).

We totally understand that next time, you will explore a new part of the city and we wish you a beautiful Parisian trip.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Grand Hotel des Balcons
Grand Hotel des Balcons
#586 of 1,809 in Paris
571 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Michelet Odeon
Hotel Michelet Odeon
#635 of 1,809 in Paris
362 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#535 of 1,809 in Paris
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#179 of 1,809 in Paris
740 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel Le Clement
Hotel Le Clement
#502 of 1,809 in Paris
435 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Prés
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#132 of 1,809 in Paris
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel

Address: 66 Rue de Seine, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#106 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $152 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent value for our small hotel located in the deep heart of Paris! You will like its charm with exposed beams, atypical corridors, small elevator, and also its modern comfort: free WiFi, air conditioning, heating, double glazed windows, luggage room ... Our terrace offers a nice view on the Rue de Seine, and as its name says, Welcome Hotel is particularly welcoming! The entire hotel is non-smoking. Our 29 rooms are small but have been carefully equipped and decorated. Tourists and business travelers will appreciate comfort and views over Paris. Every room offers a free Wi-Fi access, air conditioning, private bathroom with shower or bath, hairdryer, blackout curtains, double glazed windows, office, ... Welcome Hotel offers Parisian breakfast every morning between 7:30 am and 10:30 am in your room, in the first floor lounge or on the terrace. Welcome Hotel is located at the corner of Boulevard Saint Germain and rue de Seine, a few minutes walk from Luxembourg Gardens, Louvre Museum and Notre Dame Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing