We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for the view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel le Notre Dame
Ranked #263 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Uerikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You pay for the view”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Honestly it is in the tourist trap area. You should book an upper floor room with a decent view as the noise from the traffic junction on street level can be deafening.

You will have to carry your luggage upstairs, the rooms are small and we payed for the premium one, the staff were quite decent and you are very close to the metro and RER.

I would try a new hotel next time.

Room Tip: Higher floor and pay for the view or you really will be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lad1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    295
    97
    13
    12
See reviews for
103
540
58
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a great hotel for couples who want to explore the city from a small boutique style hotel. It is a very busy corner, but we went in december so we didn't need to have the windows open so no problems with noise. The view of the cathedral and the river is fantastic, especially with the big Christmas tree outside. The metro station is right outside so exploring was easy. The only negative was that the decor needs a little bit of a retouch in places, but only a minor issue. There are some really nice restaurants within easy walking distance - just ask for the list on reception.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room which has views in both directions at the top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bun9le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We spent 6 nights here over the Christmas holiday, its location was so easy to get to from from the airport, just take the RER blue line and get off at the St. Michael/Notre Dame stop take the elevator to the street, turn right go 50 meters and you're at the door. It was the easiest getting from the airport to a hotel we've experienced.

The rooms are on the small side but the views and the bed (that was more comfortable than most hotels we've stayed at) more than made up for that.

The staff was wonderful, they cheerfully helped us with information and choices for our daily forays around the city and made calls to learn if places were open during the holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank semrichistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I visited Paris in March 2011 for our honeymoon and we loved this hotel. The hotel is located conveniently across from Notre Dame Cathedral, and our room had views of the cathedral. The room was a little small but it was good enough for the 2 of us. The room was beautiful and comfortable, and I love the painting on the wall. Located very near to cafes, restaurants and train station. We even walked to the Louvre! Can't get a better location than this.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel is unique. It is located conveniently on the Seine River just across from Notre Dame Cathedral. The cost is worth the view alone, but be sure to ask for a room with a view on a high floor. You will have to carry your suitcases up one flight of stairs to the reception area. The hotel is situated above stores that are on the street level of a bustling intersection. I think the cafe across the street stays open all night long. My room was small, but had two windows, so it seemed larger when the curtains and windows were open. The tile shower was large. The furnishings in my room were becoming a bit dilapidated...could use some updating and refurbishing. The bed was very comfortable. With the windows closed, the street noise was not too much of a problem. (The location is at a very busy intersection with motorcycles, emergency vehicle sirens, police whistles, etc.) The walls between the rooms are not well insulated, so I heard everything going on in the room next door (Ooo la la!). Guests might also be disturbed by the vacuum cleaner noise and cleaning, which began quite early in the morning. The housekeeper left cleaning equipment and trash in the narrow hallway. It is a small boutique hotel, so there were few people on staff, but the ones I encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful. The simple breakfast (croissant, baguette, butter, jelly, juice and coffee) was served in a delightful breakfast room with beautiful views of the river and cathedral. Personally, I prefer other areas of Paris over the Latin Quarter, so I would probably recommend a different hotel to my friends—especially if they are staying for any length of time. In the Latin Quarter, the restaurants are over-priced for "so-so" food, and it is overrun with tourists (most of them drunk). But the Hotel le Notre Dame is a great choice if the Latin Quarter is the location one prefers.

Room Tip: Visit this hotel with an open mind, and enjoy it's quirkiness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtHistoryTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#196 of 1,800 in Paris
1,205 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#208 of 1,800 in Paris
1,114 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#245 of 1,800 in Paris
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Colbert - Paris
Melia Colbert - Paris
#319 of 1,800 in Paris
885 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Les Rives De Notre Dame
Les Rives De Notre Dame
#589 of 1,800 in Paris
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Notre Dame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Notre Dame

Property: Hotel le Notre Dame
Address: 1 quai Saint-Michel | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in Paris
#171 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#180 Family Hotel in Paris
Price range (per night): $238 - $438
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Notre Dame 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel le Notre Dame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Notre Dame Paris
Le Notre Dame Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing