We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 9:59 AM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Palace of Versailles
from US$14.21
More Info
from US$62.78
More Info
from US$159.91
More Info
from US$75.81
More Info
Reviews (26,386)
Filter reviews
26,386 results
Traveller rating
14,556
6,512
2,830
1,298
1,190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14,556
6,512
2,830
1,298
1,190
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide in advance security line rer c long queue buy tickets museum pass arrive early skip the line central paris ticket office golf cart marie antoinette fountain show waiting in line tour group french revolution
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 26,386 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well organised. Great way to learn the history of King Louis XIV.

The gardens are breathtaking, the Palace is beautiful beyond words.

A must visit

Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visit exceeded my expectations! I missed my time slot upon arrival so had to wait in the main queue which moved pretty quickly. For anybody fearful of COVID-19, whilst masks are mandatory there is virtually NO social distancing inside the house - be prepared to wait in large slow moving crowds to get through the State Apartments and Royal Galleries. The house is impressive and an opulent display of what colonialism and monarchy can buy you, however for me the real spectacle was the gardens and their fantastic music controlled fountains. Definitely a Must visit in Paris

Thank 252chrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2021 via mobile

When in Paris plan a day out to the Chateau Versailles. Select an early entry to avoid crowds, but with the timed entry crowds were an issue. Be sure to pick up the FREE audio guide; we almost missed it! It is very well done and makes everything so much more meaningful. After touring the palace, we rented a golf cart. It was $36 for an hour. With four people we found it a fun way to explore the grounds. We then walked to the cafe near the row boat rental. The meal was very good at a fair price for where we were. It was a lovely day.

Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Why the opulence and palace is stunning and unique given the Baroque period it is styled after, the grounds were my favorite part. There are these little cottages everywhere with front yards that have bunnies, goats and chickens that come up to you. We did that part first then went into the palace, not as crowded. Bring your own food and have a picnic out there, there is a gazebo. If you're going all the way to Versailles, make sure to time it to see the fountains. They are great photo ops and when all on at once make for a stunning scene. It is crowded inside and at a single filed line you move slowly, some of the furniture in the rooms was hard to see for me at least. If you are short, walk along the rope instead of the walls.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank 447leeannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021

We arrived for the first timed entry at 9:00 AM so as to beat the crowds. Since this was during the Covid pandemic there were fewer people than usual allowed into the palace at one time. Hence, pictures of us in a near-empty Great Hall of Mirrors! We went on a Sunday so as to be able to experience the fountain shows without the crowds that Saturday brings. Do NOT miss the fountains or else it will seem like the world's largest cemetery instead of the wonderland that it is. Bring your best walking shoes as the estate is huge.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Toxoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauSpectacles, Guest Relations Manager at Palace of Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2021

Thank you for giving us a piece of your mind ! We are glad that you had a great time visiting us, and hope to see you again soon. Best, Château de Versailles Spectacles Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews