We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Cheval Rouge
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Well located, secure car park, family run hotel in the corner of the Market square. Rooms are round a central courtyard a bit like an American motel. Reception spoke very good English much better than my French. Room was up a wining staircase down a modern coridoor above what must have been the old stables. large firm double bed, big TV, large window looking out on to the car park and other rooms round the quadrangle. small bathroom, but well equipped. No tea/coffee making (we are in France) and no fan/air con so if it's hot, room gets hot!
Excellent location for bars, cafes and restaurants with shopping streets leading down to the Palace of Versailles, antiques quarter down an alley way and the railway station not too far away. Breakfast was standard bread, cheese, cakes, croissant, jams, tea coffee.
Car park was free and gate was locked at night at 10PM so to get access to the car park or the hotel you needed your room key to open a door in the gate. Very nice secure touch.

Room Tip: we stayed in a Standard room but there does seem to be rooms with Balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkie-EarlsdonRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Hello

Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

For tea/coffee making kits I can propose a superior room for your next stay as they are all equiped with them.

Thanks again and I hope we can welcome you again in the near future!

Best regards,
Camilla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

Just had a great stay at this hotel, so convenient for our trip to visit Versailles, 15 minute walk and Roland Garros, 25 minute Uber journey. Our room was large, light,clean and comfortable, bathroom small but modern with large, hot shower. Breakfast at €9 was brilliant value. Great location by market square, restaurants and shops. Would definitely return to explore more of Paris by train 10 minute walk to station and 20 minute journey to the centre. Bonus of free car parking! Staff friendly, helpful with no language problems. No air conditioning in hotel so could be hot in height if summer.

Room Tip: Room 124 to 130 easier access through door at back of garden. No lifts but only one short flight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Hello

Thank you for your kind comment. In Versailles, free car park is indeed quite an advantage! We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

We stayed for one night in April - second time we've stayed here.
Good and easy check in and car parking and nice clean room with good facilities.

Pleasant, helpful staff.- a very nice breakfast..

Perfect location for the Palace, market and restaurants.

Lovely for an overnight stay - just right and good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank soozywoo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hello

Thank you for your kind comment. I suppose we will be seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Camilla Perrigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Good typical French hotel which gives it atmosphere and great location. Free car park. Lots of cafes and restaurants right outside.
Very clean and tidy rooms. Palace 5 mins away. Staff in hotel were very nice and helpful and obviously care about their hotel.
I was amazed by Versailles - the palace, the buildings, the lovely streets with the cafes and markets (both food and clothes although clothes not great but expensive) - but it gave the place an amazing buzz - well worth a visit!!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hello,

I'm so glad you had such a lovely stay with us! We are indeed idealy situated right in the town center. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Camilla Perrigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

A good place to stay for your visit to Versailles. 5 minutes walk to the palace, a square full of good restaurants, very secure free parking. Room was good especially for the price and an excellent buffet breakfast. Wifi was a bit hit and miss in the room but that might be my phone as my girlfriend had wifi ok on her phone, mine was fine in the public areas.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Weimaraner34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chevalrouge, Responsable réception at Hotel du Cheval Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
Camilla Perrigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
521 reviews
1.0 km away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
1.0 km away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#9 of 26 in Versailles
894 reviews
0.7 km away
A l'Hotel des Roys
A l'Hotel des Roys
#6 of 26 in Versailles
356 reviews
4.5 km away
Best Western The Hotel Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Cheval Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Cheval Rouge

Address: 18 rue Andre Chenier | 18 rue André Chénier, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: $142 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Cheval Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By staying at the Hôtel du Cheval Rouge you enter into the rich history of Versailles and its Château. Built in 1676, the Cheval Rouge was originally Louis XIV's livery. Since then, the Cheval Rouge has kept up this tradition of hospitality, with friendly service and 40 newly renovated rooms that will make your trip to Versailles restful and enjoyable. At a 5 minutes' walk from the Château, the Cheval Rouge is conveniently located between the three train stations serving Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Cheval Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cheval Rouge Versailles
Le Cheval Rouge Hotel Versailles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing