We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
66
133
76
32
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
133
76
32
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shower curtain old town arena wifi receptionist
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We have stayed in the Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc in Nimes at least six times in seven years. It has normally been OK and I’ve reviewed it on TripA twice before. However, when we stayed this time there was a serious problem. We couldn’t lock our room door with the key from the outside so we reported this to the receptionist and he came and showed us how to jiggle the door away from the frame to be able to turn the key. However, the locking system was old and loose and did not work properly and when you are inside the room it was impossible to check to see if the door was locked by turning the locking button, because as soon as you move the handle it automatically unlocks the door.

We thought we had locked the door with the turn button from the inside after we went to bed. However, at 6.30 in the morning we were awoken by a man standing in the dark near our bed. I quickly got up to chase him out of the room but I couldn’t follow him any further because I wasn’t wearing any clothes. My wife was very shocked and upset by this and insisted on immediately packing and leaving the hotel. However, when we went down to report the incident and leave at 7.15 we found the reception area was locked up.
I can't think of any reason why anyone should enter our room without knocking on the door or, once inside, not switching on the light. The front door of the hotel is not locked and as the lock on our door was inadequate there was nothing to stop anyone walking off the street and into our room. I reported this incident to Odalys Vacances, using the owners email address but they replied that the only way I could only complain was sending a registered letter to their Paris office. I replied saying I wasn’t complaining and that I only wanted to alert them to a serious security incident which should be investigated quickly, because it could happen again to other guests staying at their hotel - but they haven’t bothered to reply. It would appear that they are more concerned that I should follow their antiquated postal complaints procedure, rather than quickly responding to a serious incident and lack of security at the hotel. We definitely won’t be going back there but, if you do, remember to wedge a chair up against the door!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OdalysVacances, Gérant at Appart'hotel Odalys Le Cheval Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Client,

We thank you for your loyalty to Odalys and in particular to our establishment in Nimes.
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as successful as usual.
We transferred all of your comments to our onsite team to understand what took place.
Indeed, there was an problem with the lock in your room. It was difficult to open from the outside, however, once inside you could close with the security knob.
Following your stay and your remarks, our technician has completely changed the lock to ensure that no incidents of this type will happen again in the future.
Our team responded to your email. They explained that the night watchman checks the building every night. Seeing your door ajar he came in to check if there was a problem and came out immediately when he saw you were present inside. We are sincerely sorry if our night watchman frightened you, but we assure you that he was just carrying out his routine security check.
Nobody else could have come into your room. We assure that our property is secured by night staff, and the front door is locked from 11pm to 7am.
Finally, the front desk was closed momentarily when you arrived to report the incident as the receptionist was helping a guest in the breakfast room..
We apologize for this incident. Please note that we have taken all your remarks into account and we assure you that our residence is secured.
We hope that your trust in Odalys has not been affected by this unfortunate incident.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to one of our many Odalys establishments.

Best regards,
Odalys Team Le Cheval Blanc
04 66 76 05 22
lechevalblanc@odalys.fr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Room for 4 person has best view of the colosseum at the top floor. Stayed with special discount rate.

But better not to chose this room if you have dust allergy. The room is very spacious, maisonette type, but high ceiling room hasn't been cleaned. You can see a lot of dust piled up on the high position of the room.

And most of the lights are not working. And the one standing light is working but too hot when use it.
There were a few burned marks on th wall from the past.

There is a little kitchen. But no extract fan and again the light above the hob is too hot like a heater when in use.

Fire safety measure is not quit sure in order or not....

In the bathroom a shower holder is broken and the Schwerin head doesn't stay at the position.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We had initially booked a different hotel in Nimes, but do to an error at the first hotel, we booked at Le Cheval Blanc. This turned well for us.

This hotel is across the plaza from the Roman arena, and our room had striking views of the structure - which was lit in red and white for Christmas. The Christmas market was also across the street which made for a lovely evening of strolling with locals and enjoying the holiday spirit and hot wine.

The room itself was enormous, had a kitchenette, and room for 4 people comfortably even though we were only 2. The most interesting features were the giant wood sliding doors that could be slid over the windows to block our nearly all light.

I would have expected to pay much for such a lovely and convenient hotel. Parking and the train station are all convenient to the hotel, as well.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Coliseum
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowdog04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Although the Wifi is weak, everything else was pretty great. The room was spacious and the beds are pretty comfortable. The staff were pretty polite and helpful, which I really appreciate considering the last incident. l The location was probably it's best quality, as it's situated right outside of the arena so it's pretty easy to find it. The bus stop is pretty close by as well, just up at Square du 11 Novembre 1918 and it's just a 5 mins walk from the hotel.
All in all, very pleased with the experience here.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank arronjiaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night, we had an apartment at rear/side of property with outside terrace. We had a mezzanine bedroom and our teenage girls had two beds in lounge below. Was very clean, lovely bathroom and little kitchen. Would definitely stay again sometime

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Natalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews