We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$113
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$143
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$60
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
104
25
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
25
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuseful informationlovely bed and breakfastrooms are largefree parkingvirginiachateau
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We were worried about using a b&b, but decided to give it a try. The house is amazing, we were totally spoiled with the breakfast. Rooms are large, bath and shower clean and modern. The toilet is separated but really not a problem. We will be back. They do only take cash, no cards. The parking lot in front of the house, on the street not the court yard, is free and usable in the evening and if you are out of the lot by 930 the next morning. If your out sight seeing all day and off by then, no problems. If you sleep in you will have to pay.
Look for the big green doorand #18, then walk straight back to the gate. If you want more than a box hotel room, to be spoiled a bit and an amazing host/ room stay here. Go with an open mind and expecting something new and not to stay on a chain "cookie cutter" hotel room. Our stay here was one of the best parts of our trip.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank maribth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

This was our second time staying at this lovely bed and breakfast, the first time being in June of 2014. Both times we stayed in the Suite Marie. It has a very large room with a queen or king bed as well as a smaller room to the side with two twin beds. Our 10 year old daughter loved that she had her "own room." You do have to walk through that smaller room to get to the bathroom but it still worked out well. Be aware that the toilet is in a separate room than the sink/shower, which can be a little strange for Americans, but you get used to it! The room and bathroom were very clean which is a big plus in my book. There is a nice cross breeze since windows are on two sides of the house. The Suite Marie is up 2 flights of the spiral stone staircase, so you will definitely get your exercise! It is quiet and peaceful since the Clos St Martin is separated from the main street by another building (you have to go through that building to get to its courtyard). Breakfast was one of our favorite parts of our stay. The table was set beautifully and we loved the yogurt, pastries, croissants, tea and juice. Our daughter had hot chocolate. The manager speaks English and is very personable and helpful. There was only one issue with our stay and it is mostly out of the B&B's hands. Parking is on the street, and is not free. This can be difficult, especially on Saturday nights, since the St Martin is in the city center near restaurants and bars. This would not stop us from staying there again, because this B&B is worth it.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Kirk J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

It is not easy to find this bed & breakfast - with no signage on the street. Hidden behind a garage door one needs to call Virginia who opened the unmarked garage door and let us in. Behind the garage, we were allowed into a small courtyard and a very nice house. The rooms were decorated with care - even if perhaps a little tacky (in terms of odd choices of wall art and knick knacks). That said, the rooms are large, the bathrooms are well renovated and the shower hardware is excellent. (The showers are closed stalls and not the common European style where the entire bathroom floor floods. This should please many North American visitors.) The location is excellently located near the centre of town - easy walking distance to the water, the main shopping areas, William the Conqueror's castle, etc. It was a great place as a base to tour this part of Normandy.

Room Tip: This place accepts cash only. There is a bank machine in the nearby square if needed.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Xmtler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Where do I begin? From the moment we were greeted by Virginia, who had the biggest and most welcoming smile and attitude, we knew we were in good hands. Le Clos makes a GREAT first impression when you first see it (you have to find it first and that can be a bit daunting - thank heavens for GPS - it is behind another building & wood entrance gate - you can't really see it from the street). No elevator, but we knew that,
and my husband and I had the top floor (3rd). We had fun bringing our luggage up the beautiful stone spiral stairs - seriously - it was fun - part of the adventure. Every morning we were served a beautiful breakfast in the dining area with fresh juice, home-made yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh baked goodies, wonderful jams. Virginia was helpful, giving us tips on things to do, gave us a map. Our rooms were nicely appointed. Quiet...quiet...quiet - with the exception of one morning when the trash was picked up. We were there for 3 nights and could have stayed another one or two. Would definitely book again if we were to return to Caen. Virginia, you were amazing - really added a nice touch to our time there. Thank you for all!!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LovetoTravel202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent location, quality accommodation and hospitality. Room was lovely, very clean and full of character. Breakfast was very tasty - the homemade yoghurt was amazing. Location excellent for the city centre and we walked everywhere we needed to go from the hotel location. Wifi worked well. Note however, parking on site not good and needed to park on street - inexpensive but annoying and they only take cash or cheques. No card payments. Good English spoken - this is excellent value for money for a city centre location of really good quality. Recommended.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RufusStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews