We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Inter Hotel Continental(Deauville)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Almoria Hotel & SPA(Deauville)
US$134
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$330
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$191
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Augeval Hotel(Deauville)
US$210
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Deauville Centre(Deauville)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$110
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
US$114
ibis Styles
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$358
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
34
20
2
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
20
2
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Easy to find, easy to park and just enough french fin de siecle tart's boudoir decor to get you ready for a night at the roulette table.

Owner was present, a sort of cheerful Rosa Kleb number, probably from Belgium or Holland. Or East Berlin. Take a mortgage out for the breakfast, better and more fun watching the furs and tans in a pavement cafe in the centre of town. Not cheap. And don't come on a wet day, it would be like holidaying in someone's overfurnished potting shed.

This hotel was ok but pricey. I suspect a little too modest for Le Chiffre and overfurnished for J Bond Esq, too much to trip over in the dark in a dinner jacket after all that vodka and trying to best Poitr (or whoever) from Smersh with the Walther PPK. I mean where would the Holly Goodnight or whatever her name is, stand during the fight sequences? In between the dusky cherub stand up lamps? I don't think so, they fall over (i know, i knocked them over and i wasnt wearing a dinner jacket, boxers actually).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank william c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here in Room Eugenie for 9 nights in July as a base in a reasonably large town for touring northern Normandy, especially the coastal resorts and D-day sites. Deauville was indeed fine for this, but this hotel was a poor choice. We should probably have moved out after a couple of nights, and tried to find something better, but decided to give the place the benefit of the doubt.

Plus Points: very quiet, close to the sea, easy outside parking on the street most if not all the time, easy to find, comfortable bed, crisp clean linen and towels, good bathroom, plenty of hot water and efficient plumbing, nice mini balcony and french window for fresh air, bright and attractive breakfast room, fresh juice and bread at breakfast.

Weak points: uninviting garden with rusty furniture and overlooked by all the other rooms; extremely expensive breakfast for very little substance and variety deposited by grim-faced staff; no public rooms except the above breakfast room ; no chance of a hot drink outside breakfast, not even at a cafe within short walking distance; one rickety chair in the bedroom otherwise you sit on the bed; no desk or table at which to sit; no wifi except by reception although advertised; truly portable safe - easily removed from the room; expensive mini bar with a door that won't close; poorly lit bedroom and corridor decor - fun perhaps for a night or two, but wearing, and then annoying, for a longer stay.

Customer Service: generally lacking in customer care or attention, inconsistent service and facilities e.g chocolates and weather forecast in the room some nights, others nothing; failure to replace basic items in bathroom; no effort to engage or converse in small talk with clients (my French is not that bad!); no communication until after you've been locked out by a change in the gate security number.

If you must stay in overpriced Deauville for a night or two, and want somewhere out of the ordinary, near the sea, this just might be for you, but it is quite a walk (20 mins) to the centre and expensive for what it is. My wife found the hotel quaint at first, which is why we decided to stay to the end, but by then even she was pleased to be moving on.

Room Tip: We weren't put in the room we had booked anyway.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ath75t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My business partner and I booked and was confirmed 2 nights (Friday and Saturday night) at Hotel Villa Josephine. We have a written confirmation. The night before we were checking in, we received a call from the hotel saying that they could only give us the first night. We had made this reservation 2 weeks back and got a written confirmation. We called around an could not find any vacancy at all. It was probably the unusual warm weather that Europe had at the end of Sept. They must have sold our room for a higher rate. Without confirmed reservation anywhere in Deauville, we could not possibly even come for the first night. They didnt care and charged us one night penalty anyways. Now the hotel woudl not even return our email or calls.

Think twice about booking at this hotel. It was a nightmare for us> The staff are just very rude and unprofessional.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank MichelinBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We normally visit Deauvile at least once a year, and thus far have stayed at one of the Barriere Hotels, though wated for their flash deals. One came this year, but our particular date was blocked out so we thought well maybe to-night Josephine ?
Good point first, you can park outside, and merely have to shlep the baggage down the garden bewteen the fallen apples..only about 30 feet, so far so good.
On the way we met a cat, and it was probably the cat you couldnt swing in the room.
It was a very small room, hardly space for my wifes cases. The whole place looked as though someon's aunt had bequeathed a load of furniture and they didnt know where to put it, so plonk.
It pretty quiet, and the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom adequate.
But the price. £202 well really...oh and breakfast extra..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank President66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This English Tudor styled country home is actually set in the middle of an acre of property one block from the water and about five blocks from the center of town. Upon walking through solid wood electronic gates that hide the hotel from the street, a large front yard with some tables and chairs set about, welcome you to your temporary home.

We stayed in the Charles room, not the Napoleon as confirmed. It seemed a honeymoon couple was given our room instead. The two rooms are the same size and setup, just different décor. We liked the décor of the Napoleon room better, but the Charles room has a better view of the front yard so that made up for it. If you want a little more privacy then choose the Napoleon room because it is tucked away in the corner of the house.

The room was classy and in good shape. It was however, small. It was the kind of room that basically all you could do was walk around the bed. Both of our bags had to remain out, one on the floor and another on a luggage rack, which did not help the situation. The bathroom was very nice, large with separate shower, tub, and water closet. The entrance to the room was through French doors that lead directly to the front yard. We enjoyed this, but it also meant that you had to be careful about what you were doing or keep the drapes closed. We had our own café table and chairs just outside the door, a great place to relax and enjoy the view. There are three rooms that open directly to the front yard, the other four are upstairs overlooking the front yard and accessed off a narrow dark hallway.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel. It was a very European styled buffet breakfast that did not seem worth the money given that most of what was offered did not appeal to us. This was a shame because the setting for breakfast was a beautiful and elegant room. You could also have breakfast outside. We did enjoy the complementary bottle of champagne and chocolates that the hotel provided the first night, and a second round of chocolates the second night.

We thought the location of the hotel was great, right near the beach and just outside the main part of town, but a very easy walk. The first night of our stay, the town was not that busy. The second night, the town was so busy that every restaurant was so crowded that lines formed outside them. Although we loved Deauville and were very impressed with its beautiful wide beach, we would be concerned about staying in this town during the height of the summer season. We reserved parking for an additional fee during our stay, but were told at check in that we should be okay finding free parking on the street. This was not a problem for us and saved us some money. The second day we came back to town late enough to find a space, but good luck on those really busy summer days. The street behind the hotel seems to be less crowded than the one in front of the hotel.

While in town, we visited the Normandy and Royal Barriere hotels. We found them to be very nice and grand but also very busy. We were very pleased that we stayed at the small and quiet Villa Josephine.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews